Help us create a self-sustaining homestead and explore the wilds of Cork, South West Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very busy unschooling vegetarian family with 3 children, 4 hens, 2 pigs, 2 cats and 1 dog . Our home is an old farmhouse on a hill with a cabin ( without facilities yet) which has a bedroom for guests .We live in a stunningly beautiful rural part of Cork. We are 1 hour from the city and 30 mins from Killarney on a piece of land that consists mostly of natural native woodland. We are in the process of turning some of our land into an organic food garden for ourselves. Its not a business but a passion to live closer with nature. Currently we have a few raised beds and are working on a polytunnel. Our project is in early stages and has lots to be created and designed yet. It would be lovely to share the workload and have input / inspiration to co create our relationship with the land we live on whilst enriching our lives and the lives of those whom wish to be involved.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hanora is studying Organic Horticulture and we are very much trying to apply as much of the Permaculture principles as possible and would be really happy to share as much of this as possible.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help us in our endeavour to become more self sufficient. Our project is non commercial. Those interested should be capable of being around a busy noisy family. We really need help with weeding, path making , wood processing, compost making, earth shaping for next years growing , help with the animals and some odd jobs around the house. There's some simple wood construction around the garden and yard needed. eg wood store, work bench area outdoors. We also would like someone that has some woodwork skills to help convert our 1 bed cabin (the accommodation) into a self contained unit by building a kitchenette and compost toilet. Helping out with the kids sometimes would also be great but not essential. We would also like you to share your skills or craft with us if possible. We love to to learn new stuff.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a bedroom in our cabin which is next to our house. Although currently it does not have any facilities other than the bedroom and sitting area (which Martin my husband uses as an office during the day but we hope to move him out of there as we transform it to a fully functioning self contained unit) . We would like to share meals and perhaps cooking if that is something you like to do.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are rural the public transport is limited but does exist with busses going from the village which is about 4 miles away. We have a bike you can use too. Killarney National Park ( Mountains and Lakes) is about 30 mins away, as is Gougane Barra along with beautiful walks on our doorstep.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are very happy to have those of you in a campervan. We had a 3.5 tonne van here for a while. The track is rough and steep at the beginning but levels off.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 813212729563