Come and help me setting up in a vegan off-grid project in West-Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated   Last minute

Favourited 1319 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    203

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody!

    My name is Thomas, originally from Germany and I live here in the vegan-hills with 2 cats in a colorful community/neighborhood of people (18 different nationalities) who found and come together through veganism and bought these huge land in the wild South West Algarve.

    I am looking for help at my own spot here and offer you vegan food and a place to stay in a calm, natural environment.

    Please take the time to read my whole profile, before you get in contact with me :)

    cheers
    Thomas

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As I am not a local and also all other members of the community are not nativ, I can't offer you a portuguese, cultural exchange. Beside of that we are physically a bit isolated from local settlements.

    About learning, it depends a lot, how long you will stay, if you stay only one or even two weeks, maybe you learn just how to hold a shovel and brush or use a pickax. If you stay longer, there a for sure more opportunities to getting a impression about off-grid living, permaculture, wood-working, veganism and non-violent ways of life.

    If socializing one of your higher priority's:
    I can't promise anything about that. Currently we are only ~20 people spread out over more as 100ha. So we do not live close together or spend time together every day. Therefore, please do not expect too much by the wording "community". The best thing here is, that it is quiet and you have your peace.

  • Help

    Help

    First of all: I have only physical work to do, so you have to be fit somehow!

    You can decide for yourself when to start, when to take breaks and when do you take a day off.

    I need help with:
    - Ditch/trench digging
    - Cave digging
    - Gardening (digging, planting, building raised beds and windshields)
    - Forest clearing
    - make firewood
    - work with clay
    - Create paths
    - ...

    I like it, if you also bit independent with a eye for what have to be done or coming up with own ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German (native), English (Community Standard), a little bit of many others

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bathroom:
    (the bathroom for volunteers is a separate building)
    - with running water (but please save water, especially in summer)
    - with a indoor shower (please use only biodegradable, eco friendly soap/shampoo)
    - with a indoor compost toilet (please don't use the nature as you toilet)

    Kitchen:
    (there is a kitchen in the house and a outdoor kitchen, both with a fireplace, electricity and running water)
    - in the morning you can make your self a basic breakfast, like toast, yam, oats and a apple or banana. Sometimes we do pancakes, french-toast or scramble tofu. If you like coffee you have to bring it by your own.
    - I like to cook ones a day for everyone, usually it is enough for lunch an dinner.
    - I also like to make muffins or a cake for the time between.
    - If you bring any food by your own, even if it is only for you, please no animal product (only vegan).

    Sleeping:
    - There is a tree-house with a proper bunk-bed for two volunteers. It have light, electricity and you get a WiFi-signal from the house.
    - There is a camper with a double bed, with is a bit more space, also with light, electricity and even running water, but no WiFi-signal yet.

    My House
    (you always welcome to come in and to feel home)
    - Here is the indoor kitchen, with fridge and freezer and even a washing machine
    - If you in need of a hot shower, you also can use my bathroom

    - No Indoor smoking and outside only very careful, especially in the summer!

    You can also come with your own tent- or camper van.

    Dogs are also welcome, but as I have free cats, they need to be on a leash and can not come in to the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For long term volunteers special arrangements can be made.

    In your off-time you can go surfing if you are mobile by your own (the closest beach is 8km by car), use our own climbing/boulder wall or slakline, explore the nature, do yoga, go swimming in one of a close by lake or visit others people in the community. A hike around the boarders of our land have already 6km.
    The closest "village" is Pedralva, in case you have no car, I can pick you up there and sometimes also in Vila Do Bispo.

    Be aware: I can't offer a shuttle service and we life in the wild with no close bus station or good roads.

    The best way to get here, is by bus until "Vila Do Bispo". From there you can easy (hitch-)hike to Pedralva or get a lift from me or my neighbor.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day (max 25 hours, 5 days/week)

the tinyhouse, almost done
the forest garden
your host
a part of my spot from the top
my personal favorite beach at figueira
there is always a lot to dig. Here we build a climbing wall
The greenhouse is ready, but there is still much to do.
the treehouse is not finish, but up to 2 people can sleep allready there
pizzaofen work in progress
the view from my spot

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 164949546469

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more