Come to our family and help us around the house in Ballintogher, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hello,
    We are a family of 4, Christ, Martha, Rosie 14 and Marieke 12, living in the Nort West of Ireland.
    The surrounding of Sligo with pictoresque hills, green valleys and the atlantic coast, with beautifull sandy beaches is all on our door step. Christ and Martha are originally from Holland and have been living, building up their cottage and studio and set up their own small bussineses over the last 16 years.
    Martha is an artist and works in her studio, running classes and creating art work with recycled rubber.
    Christ is and engineer, working on environmental projects about wast water treatment.
    As a couple and family we are building on a sustainable way of living. We have a dog and a cat. we are planning to build a polytunnel this year to grow vegetables, hold sheep and get chickens this year.
    Our house is a cottage with a extension, there is a studio and a big work shed. We have 4 acres of land with young planted trees, creating a biodiversity site.
    In the studio is space to work for an artist in residence.
    Our 2 daughters are going to school and are sometimes helping with projects around the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The artistic exchange. How to create your own business in the West of Ireland. The aspects and the work involved to live in rural Ireland. How to create a house, build up a place to something beautiful. Contacts with the neighbourhood. Cycling in the area. There are a lot of skills we have learned over the years and can teach. (sewing/painting/gardening/3 d printing/ teaching/ building techniques and more.

  • Help

    Help

    Our house needs basic maintenance. This summer we will need help with building a vegetable tunnel/ painting/ caring for the animals/fencing and more general work. Work in the vegetable garden etc.
    If you are an artist or a creative person there is space in the studio to create your own work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A lovely caravan with a private little space, with cooking facilities, 4 bed. Bathroom and kitchen in the house are available. You are very welcome to join with all meals. Or if you like you can help with cooking etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area we live is rural and quiet. The Studio is available to work and create/ artist in residence might sound a nice option.
    The closest public transport is 20 minutes walk. A bus going only twice a day. It would be good to have your own transport. We could also occasional offer our car.
    our area is great for hill walking, beaches, sea activities and any other outdoor activities. We do a lot of cycling and have plenty of bikes available. Sligo is 45minutes cycling. Strandhill beach is 1 hour cylcing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 799748886755