Busy family in Galway offering a fun WorkAway experience, Ireland

  • Favourited 104 times
  • Last activity: 23 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Ron - CoHost - Retired Chef from USA
    Mona - CoHost - works at local university and native Galway Girl
    Kye - eldest child - age 20 - loves animals, art and gardening
    Jack - 2nd child - age 18 - ready for college but Rugby is his world. He also loves gardening and cooking and animals.

    Our friends have told us, over the years, it is like visiting the United Nations. You are never really sure who is staying here and what country they are from or what language they speak. Because of this we are always inundated with requests from former WorkAwayers (or siblings of!) to come back for another stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer English lessons (Móna co-host) is a former journalist and lecturer at local university. We can also offer cooking lessons (Ron co-host) is a (now retired) Chef, who can cook/teach in any particular style requested - but specialises in Italian, Mexican and baking (Sourdough breads, scones etc.).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a very busy household situated on the outskirts of Galway city (7km). We have two teenagers and host (3) college-age students throughout the academic year (Sept-June).

    During the summer our guest house is very busy with students and friends and family dropping in for visits and short stays utilising our guest rooms. So lots of laundry and making beds etc.

    We are offering accommodation and food (3 x meals etc.) in exchange for house help (laundry, cleaning, dishes, ironing, making beds etc.), walking the dogs occasionally, helping with gardening (weeding/grass cutting etc).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room with shared bathroom. We are a 'food' house, so three meals a day and snacks etc. WorkAway can help themselves for Breakfast and Lunch and family dinners together most days. Pizza nights at the weekend with homemade Pizzas (pizza oven on the deck).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local bus transport available close to the house to Galway city. Hosts are also available (with planning) to the city and back home. There are lots of local tour companies (extra cost to WorkAway) that offer tours to Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, InishBoffin).

    Our house is very busy - Mona works from home, so is usually working from 7am or 8am until 2:30pm or 3:30pm.

    The teenagers are both in college or at Rugby camp. Ron is retired and spends a lot of time gardening and with the dogs (walking in the countryside where our house is located, and learning how to play the Guitar).

    We expect a WorkAway to join the family for a few weeks, by helping with domestic chores in exchange for room & board.

    We are a very supportive and open to all races, cultures and creed. We do not tolerate any displays of racism or prejudices shown towards anyone (gender/religion/sexual persuasion) staying in our home or outside our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day

Host ref number: 787737743744

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Gardening and staying in a campervan in Cork, Ireland
Help with gardening and housework in a townhouse with a garden in Cork City Centre, Ireland