Experience Australian life and help us with our vegetable garden to wicking beds to reduce our water usage in Huntly, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    250

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are retired on 10 acres and breed heritage poultry, grow herbs for our use and the animals and keep a few sheep. we also have a rescue cat named mungo and 5 year old labradoodle named Molly,
    We have unlimited wifi and one double bedroom and so can have a single guest, or a couple. we are not smokers but do not mind if guests smoke out on the balcony
    We do not take families as our home is not really a small child safe area.
    At the moment we are re doing our vegetable garden to wicking beds to reduce our water usage and building a cattery that will give our beautiful boy an outside area at night and keep the birds safe as well
    I am also happy to share my mosaic studio with visitors

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    a real grasp of australian humour, keen to help with learning english,, and australian customs.

  • Help

    Help

    As we are retired we try not to be too manic about getting things done. we work hard at times but also know how to relax and do not mind if visiters use our place as a base to explore central victoria. Some jobs are maintaining and feeding poultry, whipper snipping, the mundane. put the bins out, help with meals, help with dishes, no more than an hour of house work a day. and most of all respect , honesty and humour. we love to laugh.
    .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one bedroom which was renovated about a year ago shared bathroom and shered meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is a bus into town at 7. 50 each school day, and we are happy to drop visitors in town whenever we are going in. we deliver eggs every friday which takes about 3 hours and they are welcome to explore Bendigo during this time. or stay longer and get the bus back later.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    never more than 5 hrs but usually less


Host ref number: 797919756767