Help our family creating a tranquil homestead in Husum, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 36 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Recently moved to an old, neglected farm with my two teenage kids. We know that we lack experience and knowledge but we are learning and step by step trying to get things done. There are many tasks, much to fix and problems to be resolved so we get the opportunity to have a lot of practice. 🙃 We want to be more self sufficient and here we have the possibility to achieve that goal.

    It is a beautiful place with forests were we pick a variety of berries and mushrooms. The view of the river is lovely, and as it is just a few steps away, it is easy to go fishing or take a swim.
    We have some animals who also will give us food to eat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Possible to see how it works to live on the countryside in Northern Sweden, the challenge and the blessing.
    Living in the well-known world heritage area visited by lots of nature loving tourists. The most popular places to visit in the High Coast of Sweden are Skule Mountain, Skuleskogen National Park, and the islands Ulvön and Trysunda.
    The High Coast of Sweden is considered to be excellent for hiking and has been cited as one of the best hiking regions in Sweden.
    There's of course other places that deserve a visit; Salusand - a lovely beach which sometimes has big waves loved by surfers, Paradiset - an indoor water park and spa, Skagsudde lighthouse, Gene fornby - a reconstructed Iron age settlement and many more.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a family who bought a homestead last summer. For now it is a non-commercial farm, so what we produce is mainly for our own consumption.
    Carpentry, renovating (old houses!), slaughter, farming, gardening, cooking, cleaning, animal care, tidy up outside, cut trees, shovelling snow, well most everything could be nice to get some help with.
    It is good if you sometimes are able to work on your own when we are away at work and school.
    Have a great need of an electrician and/or carpenter.
    We would prefer workawayers above the age of 25.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Swedish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Always had an interest in language and culture. Had friends from different countries and backgrounds who taught me some of their language and traditions.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Can offer a small room in our house (all year round) or a caravan (only during summer). You will basically live with us and share bathroom and kitchen. Therefore very important that we get along well. You can cook and eat with us if you want to. We try to make things work as smooth as possible.
    No smoking indoors!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and experience in this area, whatever you're interested in. Mountain climbing? Surfing? Shopping? Museums? Art gallery? Trekking? Hunting? Fishing?
    Trains and buses are available but a bit far away to walk. An airport is also available some kilometres away.
    Drivers licence and a car is important to be more free.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fiber broadband connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Got plenty of space to park any vehicle.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love animals so of course they are welcome as long as it works with our pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 796936268149

Feedback (1)


Feedback



Looking for some extra hands to help with maintenance of our farm buildings in Näsviken, Sweden
Come join a fellow backpacker and help out around my land near forest lakes and city in Östansjö, Sweden