Permaculture Living on Manitoulin Island in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1041

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    COVID Update: We've been inundated with Workaway requests this year. We've given priority to those interested in and able to commit for longer periods of time (minimum one month). As a result, we have much less space to say "yes" than usual. Hopefully by the later part of the summer (August/September) we can open up to shorter stays. Have a great summer ~ Justin

    Our permaculture project is becoming a hub for learning and living permaculture on Manitoulin Island in Ontario, Canada. While we predominantly work with interns we also have space for travelers and people passing through who want to experience a shorter stay but still get a chance to roll up their sleeves and pitch in with the many projects evolving on site. You will get a chance to connect and work alongside our crew of new and returning interns. We are a good landing spot for those who want to explore Manitoulin.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to run through a forest, carrying two heavy buckets of poop while being pursued by a rooster, amongst other useful skills. There is a diverse crew here and you will learn something new every day of your stay.

    If you want to go adventuring we have several bikes, kayaks and canoes at your disposal. There are many islands and hiking trails nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    Projects and typical work are varied and can include:

    Animal care: feeding chickens, collecting eggs, cleaning coops
    Garden care: watering, weeding, maintaining and harvesting food in the organic gardens
    Yard work: cleaning up brush, fallen trees
    Kitchen: pitching in to keep our communal kitchen beautiful, functional and producing delightful food

    Work expectations
    - We expect you to put in roughly 5 hours of work per day. Work is organized during our morning meetings, typically at 9:00am.
    - You will be expected to cook one dinner per week for the community (about 15 people).
    - We like to meet one-on-one, at least weekly to ensure that what we are providing works for you and vice versa. During these meetings, we may ask you to find other accommodations if it is not a good fit. This rarely happens. Most people are great.

    You are welcome to stay for up to 2 weeks. After that point, we can discuss the possibility of becoming an intern.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have huts in the woods plus a couple large family tents, all with mattresses, pillows and bedding. In the shoulder months (May & October) we have some shared inside space where people can stay that is dry and warm. Most people camp in tents from June - September.

    Monday to Friday, communal dinners are cooked by members of the community. You will be expected to cook to at least one dinner per week. You are responsible for preparing your own breakfast and lunch. You are expected to wash, dry and put away all your dishes and cookware as you use them.

    You will have access to our solar powered outdoor shower, wood fired sauna and laundry facilities. We ask that you bring only biodegradable soap, shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste and detergent. Our washroom is a compost toilet. Do your business and throw some wood shavings on top. It will compost and get turned become soil. Be prepared to lug your poop bucket to the compost bin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have kayaks, bikes and a couple vehicles. Lots of hiking, swimming and exploring close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I'm a digital (software engineer) nomad myself. We can definitely accommodate you. Our farm wifi covers most of the property, is reasonably fast, and unlimited.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for 1 camper van or motor home.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This one is a maybe. Dogs sometimes work but other times don't. We'll have to evaluate pet requests on a case by case basis.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week with 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 698568317496