Help renovate a beautiful old house in Townsville, Qld, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fellow adventurers, travellers and future friends!

    Let us tell you a little about ourselves and our project. We are Jack *my husband) and Anja - The Treebells.
    After being travellers ourselves for the past 2 years (great times to be travelling right? haha), or at least we intended to, but then got stuck in Austria, my homecountry. We couldn't go to our planned destination South America, so we decided to do all the things we wanted to do there in Austria instead. So off we went on 2 amazing Workaway experiences in the Austrian Alps, did loooots of hiking, slacklining, exploring, foraging, swimming in cold lakes and crystal clear streams, sleeping under the stars, living in the moment and going with the flow and the seasons.

    A few months back we made the decision to come back home to our house in Townsville, Australia with the aim to finish renovating the place and sell it. This is our current project and we would like to finish it asap, so we can venture off to different places again, with lots of visions and dreams for the near future.
    We have experienced being workawayers in beautiful intimate family settings and really appreciated the generosity, money-free exchange of pure open heartedness, sharing of knowledge, getting to know interesting and inspiring humans, their creative way of doing life and getting the chance to help them along with their heart-projects. We took so much inspiration from that and left with more friends and warm fuzzy memories.

    Now we would like to turn this situation around and invite someone into our life and heart-project.
    The house we are renovating is a beautiful old queenslander, situated in the suburbs of Townsville. We have been doing constant renovations on the place for as long as we have lived here and put A LOT of work and love into it. We are on the home stretch so to say, and want to be finished in the next couple of months.
    A few more hands on deck would be so much appreciated.

    Whoever would come and help us will be treated as part of the family and we would really enjoy getting to know you and sharing fun times as well as work. You are more than welcome to join us on our outer-work missions to waterfalls, Magnetic island, events in town, or just hang at home, jam, hang out in the hammock, and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful space.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Jack is Australian and I am Austrian, so at the Treebells you will feel the merge of these two cultures, whatever that means. Jack is a landscaper and man of all trades, you can learn a lot from him if you are interested in building or working with wood. He is very hardworking, creative, a great story teller and plays the didgeridoo.
    I also love being creative and have lots of artsy materials at home that I can share. I also enjoy playing the guitar and singing, dancing, yoga and reading.
    We both feel deeply connected to nature, love and appreciate it and most importantly try to protect it where we can.

  • Help

    Help

    The jobs that need doing are very basic labour that anyone can do.
    Helping with the garden, sanding, painting, cleaning the pool, cooking, shopping, cleaning... we would obviously share duties in between each other and you can do whatever you feel most comfortable with.

    At some stage Jack will finish building a waterfeature built from massive rocks. If you are strong and want to help/learn how to build with rocks, make sure to let us know.
    Help hours are super flexible, but usually we would ask for about 4-5 hours a day and offer you lots of delicious home cooked, fresh food and a beautiful abode to live in.
    Most days we try to get up early and cycle to the strand for a morning meditation and yoga session, some mornings we hike up castle hill. When we get back we enjoy delicious breakfast and by the time we get into it it is mostly 9 or 10. You are more than welcome to choose what time of the day you enjoy helping.

    We love good vibes around the place and usually get things done with music playing throughout the house, short food and pool breaks in between.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 3 bedroom house. One of them would be yours, and the third one is currently a Yoga room, which you are very welcome to use.
    Because we have just recently finished painting the bedrooms, there is not much furniture in them. You will have a bed and a shelf to put your belongings. We try to keep it as simple as possible and are in the middle of downsizing. Let us know if there is anything else you need and we will try our best to make it as comfortable as possible.
    We share a bathroom and the big lounge room/kitchen and deck space, also the garden and pool area. Just a heads up, we like to swim naked so hopefully you are ok with that.

    We like to share and celebrate meal times together. If you have different times of eating you can always help yourself with food. Every Sunday we go to the local markets and get all our fruit and veggies. I am vegetarian, so we mostly cook veggo. We really love food and both love to experiment in the kitchen. If you do too, we always love the different flavours that other people bring.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Townsville is a great little city. There is really nice art galleries, workshops and regular live music. Lots beautiful green areas to go to and be active. Riding the bike along the river, kayaking, skating along the strand, relaxing on the beach, hikes in the Town Common, and of course not to forget Magnetic island. It is only a 30min ferry trip over and the island is simply stunning. In the wider region/area around Townsville there is really endless places to explore, if you enjoy the outdoors, hiking and camping. We will happily share some secret spots with you.
    Also there are E-Scooters spread all over the city which is very convenient to get around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 795862877457