Enjoy the warm days and cool nights surrounded by bio-diversty, QLD, Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    441

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have ‘retired’ to my rainforest coved peninsula on a lake an hour inland from Cairns, where I am in the final stages of completing my house, am about extend my barn, plus convert a a 34’ ex offshore race boat into a houseboat for the lake!
    Now that the lake, (which has 200km of shoreline) is full again, I’ve also got to put a new motor on the ski boat, and get back into some skiing!!! - haven’t water skied for four years, but have managed to snow ski in four countries on three continents in the past couple of years! Great to have friends around the world!
    I’ve also got a few (old!) Hobie Cats, windsurfers and canoes here - and some great friends who frequently come and camp here with their friends and/or kids ... it’s a truly beautiful, fun place, surrounded by nature - the nearešt neighbour is half a km away.
    Im still in touch with backpackers from Europe and Scandinavia who were here four years ago, and one of them informed me two days ago that she had just got engaged and would like to come back here to get married!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sailing, skiing, canoeing, fishing (not that I’m a fisherman, but the Lake is full of them, world record Barramundi, 56kg caught here .... great birdwatching region.... incredible bio-diversity, plant and animal, saw a tree kangaroo on the property a few years ago, there are plenty of them 15 minutes away .... right next to a heap of pristine waterfalls, crater lakes etc etc etc ...,
    Warm days and cool nights (700m above sea level) Swim sail, ski or paddle by day, sit around the circular fireplace at night .... another project that’s just come my way is building a cabin with a frameless plexiglass window that curves right up overhead for stargazing whilst snuggled up ....

  • Help

    Help

    My French needs a lot of practice!
    Apart from that, a helping hand with any of the projects and/or chores, plus a few laughs in between would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and slow halting French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Share house - one spare bedroom with double bed, tons of couch space, a couple of old but Ok caravans, or camp at sunset point.
    I'm happy to provide the materials required for three healthy meals a day - I eats lots of fruit and veg, plus grass fed eggs and grass fed meat and non farmed fish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I come down to Cairns once a week flexible which days, so could pick you up .... which would probably be the easiest

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Whatever is mutually agreed as a fair swap for your abilities and energy levels, I guess, and if you’d like me to provide food 😊 (maximum 25 hrs)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 197214994596