Help us at a farm with permaculture in Tenerife, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 306 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 members. We own a camel farm and rent out rooms at a typical canarian house on our premises.
    With the covid entering in our lives we have to change our way of focusing our offer. You would be able to stay at our guesthouse in exchange of 25 hours/week of your help. The rest of the time you can accomodate to your needs. We are sorry to say that we cannot retribute economically, as in the past.
    We have alot of demands for improving such a nice place (said by guests), and would like to fulfill the guests and our wishes. Bonfire area, barbeque and swimmingpool area is what we are starting now, but alot more can be done, and ideas are welcome.

    We are also looking into to permaculture and wouldneed somebody who knows about this aspect.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a farm just 5 km from the coast. Alot of guests come and stay with us because we are near to alot of the island activities, like trekking, cycling and all sea sports and leisure. Our area is quiet, we are a team of 8 family and friends and the days spent working are very entertaining with chillout evenings.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a family business and, during summer period and up to 6 months, we need help with maintanence, and building. Therefore, we offer accomodation, and need up to 2 to 3 persons. We have in mind doing house reforms focused on the guesthouse to change from shared bathrooms to private ones.
    We need doors varnished, walls painted and we are starting a swimmingpool area, so the workaways can enjoy it also. Apart from that, there is a job with the camels, for somebody interested in learning about them, along with other farm animals and a p.r. and fotography helper needed.
    Somebody who works well wood, and enjoys finishing building proyects is welcome!!
    Feel free to contact us with your questions, and maybe you would like to spend some time with us, and also visit the Canary Islands, which are so special.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workaways will be staying at a typical canarian style house, sharing kitchen, bathrooms and patio areas. The rooms are independant and can be shared if two friends come. If not, it is a double bedroom per person unless rooms are needed, then you would have to share.
    You have wifi in common areas and a bus stop 300 metres down the road, villages at walking distance and beaches 5 km away.
    We have more possibilities of accepting friends or couples that dont mind sharing a room with two single beds or doublebed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Canary Islands are full of precious corners, the islands are near enough for you to visit on your days off, and if not, Tenerife itself is well communicated and lots a leisure and sightseeing involved.
    We are a small family that work together during the day, but respect each others evenings to spend in family or with friends. You are welcome to join in, or just relax at the guesthouse and meet people from all over the world that come to stay a few days with us.
    We decided in 1988 to leave our bank and engineering positions to raise our daughters on a farm. We have been rewarded with a great life, but are a bit overwhelmed with all that is needed to be done on a farm, and therefore need help.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are easy with our workawayers working online in their spare time from our location. The internet is basic but unlimited. No high speed yet available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    24 to 40 hours/week


Host ref number: 792782395186