Help on a organic farm in Tokushima-Prefecture! Japan

Country

Japan

updated  

Favourited 547 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1442

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Naohito Yoshida(42), Please call me nao.I am an organic farmer.My family is 4 people.(My parents and sister.)One cat, two dogs and five chickens are pets.

    In the middle basin of the Yoshino river, we operate organic farm. A small, 8 acre diversified family farm.

    We are located in mima-city, Tokushima-Prefecture, a three hour drive west of osaka and ten hour west of tokyo.

    We primarily grow seasonal vegetables and fruit.

    We use no insecticide/herbicide/fungicide of any kind, including organic sprays.

    ・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・
    Important Notes:

    1, Please refrain from abrupt visits. If there is no final contact one week before arrival, we will judge it as cancellation.

    2,Sometimes, we can advice on transportation for guests. However, the accuracy of the information and the official support as a company are not provided. The final decision is left to the guests.

    3,Please cook yourself. Please support this if you can't. You can use ingredients that can be purchased at supermarkets in Japan and vegetables, fruit trees, and grains that can be harvested at my home. In Japan, meat is expensive and not very usable.

    4,We do not have whats app. we have facebook message and skype and iphone .

    5,Please enter the length of stay in the reply message.

    Example(I will stay from June 1st to June 30th.)

    We appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a wonderful place for those who love the outdoor life. We are close to yoshino river(3km) and other great river areas. There are endless hiking, swimming, and exploration opportunities in the nearby wilderness areas.
    We really enjoy working with those who are interested in learning gardening skills, or considering starting their own farm or homestead some day. We can teach all about organic growing, and if interested, food preservation by fermentation, canning, and drying.(I worked at a laboratory of organic farming.)

    This is a wonderful place for those who love thetourist spot. We are close to Traditional town (3km) and other great thetourist spot .

    Example Hot springs, temples, shrines, cafes, restaurants, historical places

  • Help

    Help

    Our main farming activities include: harvesting, weeding, trellising, cultivating, planting, mulching, starting seeds. For longer stays, there may be opportunities for working farmers markets. No previous farming experience is required, but experience with general manual labor is helpful, and a willingness to get sweaty and dirty is necessary.

    ・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・
    【Q&A】

    1,Q: When do you start work?
    A: 5am(may. april. june. july. august.)
    6am(september. april.)
    7am(october. november. december. january. february. march.)

    For example 5:00-work-7:00-break-7:15-work-9:00-break-9:15-work-10:30

    2,Q: I don't have boots and Raincoat for farming. Sould i buy?
    A: Yes, please buy the boots as much as possible.
    Just in case, we can lend some boots. but, japanese boots are very small.
    Thank you for understanding and cooperation.

    3,Q: Do we have any events in our spare time?
    A: There is no events. Because, Japanese staff usually work for all day.
    Work away staff basically creates their own time about other spare time. hiking, cooking, traveling...etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese English(little)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Old hut with all the basics - hot shower, outdoor kitchen, Japanese style toilet, access to laundry.

    We provide organic food for 30%~70% meals, including farm produce and purchased staples.

    We eat lunch together.(5 days a week) Cook yourself a dinner and breakfast.

    Please pay for yourself at cafes and restaurants.
    ・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・・
    【Q&A】

    1,Q: How many people can stay in a shared house?
    A: The maximum is 2~3 people.
    However, We usually live in around 4 to 6 people.

    2,Q: Please tell me about the foods of the shared house.
    A: I go shopping every week. If you have what you want, you can go to the supermarket together.

    3,Q:Can I Use the Internet?
    A:Yes, you can use it.However, because many people use the Internet, it may be slow.

    4,Q: Is there couple room?
    A: There is couple room but, when some people already stay here, you need to sharing room with each other people.

    5,Q:Is there a smoking area?
    A: I'm sorry. It is not in my house or field.When you want to smoke, go to a nearby convenience store.(500m)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is a relatively warm place in Japan. In winter, the seasonal wind is strong a bit, but it rarely freezes and does not snow. Summer is slightly cooler than town because it is in the mountains.

    (Express bus), about 10 hours from Tokyo station to wakimachi-Inter.My house is 5 minutes by car from Waki-cho Inter.(Express bus),about 3 hours from Hankyu Umeda Station to wakimachi-Inter.(JR train)15 minutes by car from Anabuki station to my house.

    tokyo-st---bus (10.700 yen)---wakimachi-inter
    tokyo-st---bus (10.300 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st

    nagoya-st---bus (6.800 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st

    hiroshima-st---bus (6.150 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st

    kyoto-st---bus (3.700 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st
    kyoto-st---bus (4.400 yen)---wakimachi-inter

    kansai intetnational airport---bus (4.100 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st

    osaka-st---bus (3.700 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st
    umeda-st---bus (4.100 yen)---wakimachi-inter

    sannomiya-st---bus (3.300 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st
    sannomiya-st---bus (3.700 yen)---wakimachi-inter

    okayama-st---bus (3.400 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st

    takamatu-st---train (1.460 yen)---tokushima-st---train (850 yen)---anabuki-st

    matuyama-st---bus (3.400 yen)---wakimachi-inter
    matuyama-st---train (4.160 yen)---anabuki-st

    kochi-st---bus (2.650 yen)---wakimachi-inter
    kochi-st---train (2.430 yen) ---anabuki-st

    Helper can enjoy free time as hiking, harvesting of natural vegetables and fruits ,ecological observation, photography, sketching, paintings, others.

    There are many cafés and pubs (restaurants) and sightseeing spots that are close to the view. Supermarkets and McDonald's are also 10 to 15 minutes by bicycle. Mima city is the mining of tourist spots. Please enjoy many sightseeing spots and events by all means.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week
























Host ref number: 792558148422