Permaculture, Aquaponics and Renovations in the beautiful Kalang Valley, NSW Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    136

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Luke. 34yo. I’m the bald guy in the photos. 5 acre property in the beautiful Kalang valley where I am establishing market gardens utilising natural concepts... aka Permaculture. 15 minutes drive from Bellingen, 40mins from Coffs Harbour. Wet sclerophyll forest surrounds.

    Daily school bus into Bellingen/Coffs harbour or easy hitchinking area if you don't have transport, and I may be of assistance as I do regular trips to Coffs Harbour in my car. Basic accommodation 50m away from my house in a new guest cabin/workshop built from timber milled from the property, requires some "finishing touches". Wood fire. Loft sleeping area with epic views over the property and hills. You share my kitchen, bathroom and living area. Social easy going place and I enjoy most music. I also host warmshowers travelling cycle guests so it's not all about the work.

    Work tends to be creating new garden beds, pathways, irrigation, harvesting things and replanting, raising seedlings, looking after animals and aquaponics. Clearing vigourous wild plants to replant with useful plants. Internal building works on the guest cabin to further its completion. Endless choice. Or tell me what you think I should be working on.

    World heritage forest hiking trails nearby. River is across the road for kayaking/fishing/exploring. Excellent markets and cultural/music festivals hosted nearby every few months in Bellingen .

    Compost toilets. Rain & river water. Omnivorous diet, but I am working towards consuming only my own animals from the property (poultry, pig, silver perch, rabbit). I will do dinner that will usually result in leftovers for lunch, but keen to experience cuisine from far away lands should you wish to teach. Breakfast is "do your own" from provided items such as muesli, fruit, dairy, eggs and other garden goods, bread from awesome local organic bakery. Tell me what you like.

    No set expectations of daily work output, just what ever we both feel fits the tasks at hand your experience, skills and vigour, but ideally in the realm of 25hrs spread over the week. It normally works best if we can work together and share ideas, I tend to be working on projects and in the garden during weekend daylight hours but also for a few hours before sundown during the week and I tend to be away from the property on weekdays.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Share garden ideas, BBQ/bonfire get together with neighbours and others up the valley at times. Come and spend time here in nature, swim in the river, variety of markets and cultural festivals in nearby Bellingen.

  • Help

    Help

    Creating garden beds and other garden structures, collecting mulch, mowing/brush cutting, tending to the aquaponics or building more systems. Also potential to help me finish building the visitors cabin plus other various renovations on the other houses.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The almost finished guest house tends to suit most, or camp upon a ridge with epic views if you prefer. Wifi and landline telephone available. Mobile reception in certain areas of the property. Meals are provided at my house if you eat a broad diet, or you can self cater.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bushwalking in nearby world heritage rainforest, kayaking and fishing on the river, and various outdoor pursuits available nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hrs spread across a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (3.7)












Host ref number: 792339229864