Help take care of our island place. Improve the off grid place on a remote, beautiful island and go snorkelling, paddle boarding, surfing and exploring in the Kingdom of Tonga, Ha'apai

Country

Tonga

Favourited 701 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    626

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family lives and works in Tonga, South pacific. My Family has been in Tonga for 9 years and we do our most to live self sufficiently. Our land base is totally off grid and we grow fruit and vegetables, have chickens and fish. We run a tourist business taking people swimming with Humpback whales, paddle boarding and island exploring. I have a daughter who is 17 t. We also have a sailing catamaran that we work as well as have fun on sailing amongst the many islands of Ha'apai. All of the family are great water sports people and love animals and adventure. We have many animals and help the locals animals. Aside from working with travelers we help the local community as much as possible. We have started the 1st rubbish collection service, brought animal vets in and run environmental education at the local primary school. Please no one younger than 26 .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many things you will leave with after a visit with us. If you are open minded, adaptable and resourceful and someone who appreciates living in nature. Experience my family who is independent, caring and striving to make good and the least possible footprint whilst still having fun and lifes comforts. Experience the ocean and island ways, learn to free dive, paddle board or horse ride. Learn more about off grid living and appreciate things for example, hot water on tap that are an accepted norm in the western world. Become friends with the local Tongans and gain some cultural knowledge. Much more!

  • Help

    Help

    Hi we need immediate help with tutor help for our daughter. !! Other help we need is with general maintenance and yard work. Cleaning the property for our tourist period. Fencing and vegetable gardening and helping with the ponies. We are searching for a couple of people that can care take our place as well. We need to travel to Australia and cant leave our place unattended. Experience and knowledge is necessary with any of the tasks we need help with and with remote/isolated/off grid living.
    Everyone helps with daily living chores and share house duties separate to work projects. There is plenty of time to go snorkeling, paddle boarding, surfing, beach walking, island exploring, horse ridding or just read a book in a hammock. The Ha'apai islands where we are based are very remote but beautiful, the weather is warm all year around. As far as entertainment, we make our own, shops, bars or restaurants are limited and not near by. Life is simple, busy and productive, what you put into life the more you get out of it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is at a simple out door living home. Private rooms are in big tents with big beds on an island. Food can vary in Tonga, we can't always get everything, it is quite basic, so being a fussy eater would be difficult, but we always eat well with fresh fruit and vegetables. We arrange 3 meals a day at given times so no one misses out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Tonga is an example of classic pacific islands . There are 176 island in Tonga to explore. We love exploring the islands around us. There is unlimited and beautiful coral reefs and beautiful swimming and snorkelling. We have started a few projects in the local village to help animals and the environment. Our main business is taking people swimming with Humpback whales, it is a very short season and we work hard at this time. The Tongan people are very friendly and welcoming, there are many chances of learning about their way of life and getting involved with projects in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs per day

This is the family and Milly the tongan dog on board our yacht.

Host ref number: 791684327145