We need Campground Volunteers For the summer in Okanogan, BC

Country

Canada

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1284

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Chilean/ Canadian nomadic couple helping to run a campground in the beautiful Okanogan valley in British Columbia! We are just 5 mins from the Okanogan lake in Summerland, and 20 mins from the nearest city, Penticton. Summerland is a very small community full of local markets, music and culture!

    Susana and I have been nomads from when we met in New Zealand in 2011 and we want to welcome fellow travelers to our temporary home to help us out with a few easy things. Most importantly we want to be able to share our community and experience time together and by learning from one another.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the end, remember that it is only our experience together that matters. Susana and I have been traveling for many years around the world and have many different cultural exchanges by volunteering, and we know exactly what we expect and more important what you expect from us. We all respect each other and work and play as a family.

    In our little community, we will set up a garden to grow our own food, and develop a beautiful environment that we can all learn and share. During the summer there will be plenty of local markets in the area with all handmade from the local farmers, also live music and dancing in some events in the community. You can also get involved with some of the events going in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    The Tasks

    One of the main responsibility will be to keep the campground cleaned, the washrooms will be cleaned once a day in the morning, and then in the evenings just a quick clean. It will take approx 2 hours to clean in the late mornings and then 1 hour in the late evening in the busy periods only. They will have to be done 7 days a week so we will have to work out a schedule together so that we can all get some days to ourselves.

    It is perfect if you would like to do some fruit picking on the side to make a bit of extra money!

    In our little community, we will set up a garden to grow our own food, and develop a beautiful environment that we can all learn and share from each other. Summerland is honestly really good for this.

    In the busy months; July & August there may be some opportunity for some paid work such as site cleaning, mowing lawns, gardening etc..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is space on our site for you to stay, if you do not have your own tent, that is okay we can set up one for you! We will grow our own food and arrange community meals together. If you have a green thumb, feel free to help out!

    Length of time:

    Because of our schedules we will need a precise date of arrival and departure we would like for you to stay for no shorter than 3 weeks, preference will be giving to those that want to stay for months at a time. We will require volunteers to stay from May,

    At the end of the day, we are all here to enjoy, learn, explore, make friendships, and have an adventure! Soo.. what are you waiting for! We welcome you to our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the area of Summerland there are many things to do; going to the beach, swimming, Kayak & Canoe rentals, going for walks, or jogs along the lake in the mornings/ evenings for sunsets. Summerland is 20 mins drive from Penticton and 45 mins from Kelowna. There are many little towns along the valley. If you're looking for some other work, there is also a lot of fruit picking work in the area - you will need car for this. Come and meditate, and relax its very easy work with rewarding experiences!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 6 days a week

Susana taking a siesta!
Making Piña colada's
Selling hot dogs on special events at the campground.
Our Campground team from a few years ago.. with a few of our volunteers.
Our site from last year.
Our site from a few years ago, growing our own food, with a full kitchen
Below our site we there is a river running through and we where able to make our own pool by creating a dam.
Host ref number: 789334351215