Come to our family and help with kids in Verona, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 47 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!! We are a family of four and we live in Verona city center close to "Arena di Verona theatre" and "juliet's house" (Verona is celebrated by Shakespeare, who made it famous as the romantic setting for Romeo and Juliet). We can provide also bikes but all services are nearby, 10 minutes walk to train&bus station.
    Our children are: Eleonora, she's 9 yo and Edoardo who is 11 yo.
    We registered on workaway because we love cultural exchanges, we would like to get in touch and share experiences with foreing people and we would like our kids to learn English now that they are still so young.

    So we are looking for a volunteer, who could stay and play with them for 3/4 hours a day, speaking only English with them.
    I work in a National bank, my husband is a lawyer. We live in a large apartment with a common space with a tv and kitchen, five rooms and three bathrooms, so There is a lot of space for our guest (Who can have also a good privacy!).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like spending time with our guest (even if We Are not a lot Of time at home), but we are flexible and open minded and we know that private and peaceful moments are important... our apartment is quite Large to ensure private spaces both for us and for you.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for support with the kids by picking them up from school at 4.30pm (about 200 meters away from our house) until I come back from work at about 6pm, so you can Have all mornings And week-ends free If you want.

    This is the schedule most of the times, but we would need you to be a little flexible because my husband come back home Later, so we might ask you to take care of the kids until The diner time (always no more than 4 Hours a day, of course).

    When you take care of them we would like you to speak only English while playing, singing, reading, painting or doing any other funny activity (If you can play piano/guitar you can enjoy ours!) ... our goal is to make them practice English during playtime.

    So what we need is a reliable person, who loves children, able to take care of them in safety, enjoying this experience with energy and enthusiasm.
    
We have a person who cleans our house so we don't need you to do particular heavy houseworks, it's just expected from every family member to cooperate in keeping the house clean and tidy, we help each other in everything, and even the kids are used in collaborating and cleaning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room, with tv and free wi fi. The bathroom is in common with kids only.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surrounding area around Verona offers access to some of Italy's most spectacular scenery. In the Northern area you have rolling hills with vineyards. The nearby valley Valpolicella is famous for its renowned Amarone, Recioto and Valpolicella wines as well as for its ancient villas.

    Garda Lake can be easily reached from Verona for a day trip, The bus stop is nearby but we often go there because our grandma Have got a family holiday house there.
    Verona is a very easy city, you have everything nearby. The train station is close too, and also the airport (10minutes Driving).
    If you want to Have a Daily/week-end trip you can take The train And go to Venice (1hour away from here) Milan (2hours) Florence (3hours).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wi-Fi/internet connection is really good and I am now working from home, so it is not a problem to host someone doing the same.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 787849714921