Animal lover to help out with our horses for the winter in beautiful Donegal, Ireland

Country

Ireland

new host  

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Animal lover wanted to help out on our small farm beside the Sea in beautiful North West Ireland. We are located right beside the sea in Donegal, we have a small family farm and stables where we keep horses. We are looking for an animal lover with good previous equestrian experience and able to ride to give us a little help around the farm during the winter months (November -February).
    We have 4 friendly family dogs (2 red setters,collie,chihuahua), 2 cats and 5 horses.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you with improve your english and you will learn about the Irish culture, we live in a very touristic scenic area. You can improve your knowledge of horses and may have the opportunity to improve your riding with lessons. There is Hunting locally every weekend during the winter which we sometimes attend, the opportunity to come along and watch the Irish hunt is also possible if we are attending . Other weekends we may attend local shows (showjumping) with our horses, you will be very welcome to travel with us in the lorry and meet lots of new people at the shows. There are lots of lovely beaches and mountains nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    The horses come inside to their stables during the winter as the fields are too wet and mucky for them to stay outside, we would like some help with cleaning their stables and feeding hay which is done twice daily, we muck out and feed hay in the morning 8:30am and then again in the evening 6:00pm. Some of the horses also get hard feed/ pony nuts/grains with their hay. We need an experienced horse person who is able to work comfortably around our horses and is knowledgeable about horse care as sometimes you may be required to move horses between fields/stables or even administer first aid or wound care to a horse that may be injured. There may be the opportunity to ride and exercise our horses depending on the level of your riding ability- we would prefer an experienced rider who has a good level of Dressage/ Flatwork. You can also walk our friendly family dogs down to the beach if you wish.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer one bedroom with a double bed in our traditional family bungalow. Our bungalow is situated in a quiet peaceful area just outside a small village, which is a 5 -10 minute walk. In the village there is a supermarket, post office, credit union, chemist, gift shop, doctors surgery, cafe, take away, 2 bars and a restaurant. You will have full access to our family home and kitchen area- fridge/freezer/cooker to prepare your food. You can use our washing machine for your laundry. We both work full time jobs Monday to Friday so you will be expected to cook your own meals, clean up afterwards and do your own laundry etc. We will provide all food/drink etc, we eat alot of vegetarian food, we have good wi fi access in the house. Our 4 dogs live in the house so it is important that you are a dog lover, we also do not permit any smoking in our home or around the farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Saturdays and Sundays you are totally free these days to go and explore beautiful Donegal, there is a bus that goes in to our nearest big town Letterkenny daily from our village(10 mins walk) at three different times. We can drive you into the village to catch the bus if you wish to go in to Letterkenny, there is a large bus Bus Eireann station in Letterkenny where you can get buses to lots of different places to visit, we are happy to give more free days off to travel- but please let us know in advance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 786964223466