Stay in our vegetarian and vegan house and learn about self sufficiency and food growing near Limoges, France

Country

France

Favourited 648 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    73  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thank you for checking out our listing - Updated; 31 - August – 2021

    We have often appreciated the help of workaway people as you can see from the feedback.

    UPDATE - 31-08-2021 - This year we moved to a place with more land: 1ha = 2.5 acres half is garden half forest,
    We are in the process of re-starting our eco project - 50k south west of Limoges, France,
    the plan this year is to achieve more sustainably and be off grid as much as possible, with food production, compost toilets, regenerative agriculture, solar panels etc, possibly build one or 2 small eco dwellings, and continue with the eco projects we started 10 years ago at the previous place, that is growing by hand human scale heritage/ancient grain/cereal, fruit and veg including harvest storage and cooking, compote/jam, fermented food, sourdough bread, design and plant a perennial edible garden, record results photos videos etc.

    Normally we host 2 people, A couple or 2 friends suits the situation here best, and socially as we are in the countryside there is nothing in the way of a city or town type of social life. there is plenty of nature and wildlife here.

    All the activities require people with experience or ability to do manual physical tasks in the food growing area or diy maintenance on the house or garden structures.

    This can be a good educational experience learning about human scale ecological food production and other diy, without chemicals or tractors.
    You may notice I like to use words that describe a way of life, living in harmony with nature, (avoiding words like work, job and so on that are offen related to money and offen we do things we don't like to earn money to do the things we do like) . We are not fully there yet, that's where we need help, in getting set up.

    Note : In the gardens there are different activities according to the season :

    Winter and Spring we get the land ready for seed planting, maintain and or build infrastructure's, cut firewood, prune fruit trees, etc

    March, April and May is the main ground preparation and seed planting time,

    Summer and Autumn are weeding, watering, mulching, harvesting and storage.

    There are many forests round here with chestnuts, hazelnuts, blackberrys, mushrooms etc. according to the season.

    FOOD - At this place we have a healthy balanced vegetarian/vegan diet only, meaning NO - meat, fish, eggs, drugs, alcohol smoking etc.

    I prefer to accept people for this project who normally eat healthy vegetarian/vegan food. I see this way of life as being essential for environmental sustainability, mental emotional and spiritual balance.

    COOKING - We have a nice separate large wooden cabin on the property for guests and we are in the process of setting up more facilities there for cooking etc. - if you have any special dietary request, health issue, or anything else we should know about you, please let us know before you arrive here, so we can talk about it and see if it is possible to provide what you require.

    ABOUT US - We are straight-forward people that you can talk to, working together on the eco garden project, i am an experienced gardener/farmer builder etc. engaged voluntarily by choice in gardening farming, bhakti yoga, mantra meditation, eco building, healthy lifestyles, vegetarian vegan diet, Permaculture, self sufficiency, natural farming-Fukuoka style, sustainability, regenerative agriculture, i am retired (from earning money) spiritually inclined and long in the tooth.

    Please ask if you need more information.

    Thanks for checking out our project

    Gaura and Geneviève
    -----------------------------

    LOCAL AREA - Our place is in the green perigord national park area between Limoges and Angouleme, France, 87600.

    LOCAL ATTRACTIONS : there are free public areas with lakes or rivers to swim in nearby, and forests to walk in and collect chestnuts, mushrooms etc in the season.
    This year is a bit funny regarding public attractions, cafes, pubs , restaurants, discos etc. as everywhere else.

    TRANSPORT -Bus and train, please check out the airport bus and train times yourself on their websites.
    It's good if you have your own transport (car, bike etc) as this is a country area and the nearest food shops are 10k - 7 miles from here.

    WE CAN PICK YOU UP if you get as near as you can on public transport. and we buy in any food needed if there is not enough from the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People who come here can learn; about self-sufficiency, eco gardening, growing and cooking healthy organic vegi food, and many other things associated with living in a positive peaceful spiritual way. many books to read.

  • Help

    Help

    We would appreciate the help of 2 veggie people, a couple or 2 friends for 1 to 4 weeks . (Minimum Age 21.)
    It's good if there are 2 people as there is no entertainment or city type night life in this small village, it's quite isolated, basic country life.

    We often need help with the eco/organic gardens, sustainable regenerative agriculture project, fixing up the house, food storage herb collection, jam making, diy maintenance etc. There's always various things to do, we like sharing our skills, teaching people how to do things and learning from others.

    Please ask us if you need more information,
    and if you are not sure about anything - i am happy to answer your questions -

    thanks
    gaura/genevieve
    ------------

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    gaura speaks english and is learning french, genevieve speaks both

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ACCOMMODATION - house with wifi Internet, heating, shower large garden etc.
    We have a nice separate accommodation facility for guests. camping is possible if you have a tent and would like to be more inderpendent and connected with nature.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like fresh air, countryside, forests, rivers, walking, healthy vegi-food, a peaceful environment and you are able to entertain yourself in this environment, then this is a good place for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    i think so, although i dont know what is needed for a digital nomad, the wifi internet and mobile phone are functioning ok for me, in some places on the property there is better reception than others.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    i believe we have enough space for a camper van but please do contact us first with full details to discuss the size and other requirements you require to see if it is possible to accomodate your vehicle.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Normal workaway hours - 4 to 5 hours a day 5 days a week - negotiable












































Host ref number: 786162948863