Education in the countryside, gender and agroecology in Bogota, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 386 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For 12 years we have worked on the creation of diverse agroecological experiences, promoting peasant self-management and food sovereignty; generating spaces for dialogue, reflection and action regarding social and environmental problems in the Municipality of Cáqueza Cundinamarca.

    In turn, we have developed experiential workshops, popular education meetings, wellness spaces, cineforos and artistic interventions that have helped us strengthen our goal.

    We live in a farm that has an agroforestry design based on a coffee plantation, protein bank, native forest recovery, living fences and home garden.

    Durante 12 años hemos trabajado en la creación de experiencias agroecológicas diversas, promoviendo la autogestión campesina y soberanía alimentaria; generando espacios de diálogo, reflexión y acción respecto a problemáticas sociales y ambientales en el Municipio de Cáqueza Cundinamarca.

    A su vez hemos desarrollado talleres experienciales, encuentros de educación popular, espacios de bienestar, cineforos e intervenciones artísticas que nos han ayudado a fortalecer nuestro objetivo.

    Vivimos en una finca que cuenta con un diseño agroforestal basado en una plantación cafetera, banco de proteínas, recuperación de bosque nativo, cercas vivas y huerta casera.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can learn agroecology techniques, alternative pedagogies, Colombian music culture, yoga, traditional local cuisine, practice Spanish and have the experience of living with a family in a rural environment.

    Los voluntarios podrán aprender técnicas de agroecología, pedagogias alternativas, cultura musical Colombiana, yoga, gastronomía tradicional local, practicar español y tener la experiencia de convivir con una familia en un entorno rural.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help from open and self-motivated people who like community work and outdoor life in activities such as:

    - Experiential games and activities with children and adults (music, theater, painting, gastronomy, literature, dance, literacy, ecotourism, among others)
    - General maintenance of the farm includes work with plants, animals and infrastructure.
    - Planning activities related to gender issues: conversations, experiential activities, realization of reusable sanitary towels, among others.
    - English classes for the community.

    Necesitamos ayuda de personas abiertas y automotivadas que gusten del trabajo comunitario y la vida al aire libre en actividades como:

    - Juegos y actividades experienciales con niñ@s y adultos ( música, teatro, pintura, gastronomía, literatura, danza, lectoescritura, ecoturismo, entre otras)
    - Mantenimiento general de la finca incluye trabajo con plantas, animales e infraestructura.
    - Planificación de actividades en torno a problemáticas de género: conversatorios, actividades experienciales, realización de toallas higiénicas reutilizables entre otros..
    - Clases de inglés para la comunidad.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in a room that you can share depending on the people who are with us, but there are always visitors. Also if you have tent you can camp.

    El alojamiento es en una habitación que puedes llegar a compartir dependiendo la gente que esté con nosotros, pero siempre hay visitantes. También si tienes carpa puedes acampar.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Near our house you can go hiking, go to the river and try traditional bakery recipes. We also have close friends who also live on farms and who like to share their knowledge with the volunteer friends who come to visit us.


    In our project we cook together ... We offer all three meals and at dinner we eat very lightly. Depending on the season in which we are, we consume what is in harvest. But we usually eat some grain, rice, soups and salads. We do not eat meat.

    Cerca a nuestra casa se pueden hacer caminatas a la montaña, ir al río y probar recetas de panadería tradicional. Además tenemos amigos cercanos que también viven en fincas y que les gusta compartir sus conocimientos con los amigos voluntarios que vienen a visitarnos.


    En nuestro proyecto cocinamos entre todos...Ofrecemos las tres comidas y en la cena comemos muy ligero. Dependiendo la temporada en la que estemos, consumimos lo que esté en cosecha. Pero normalmente comemos algo de grano, arroz, sopas y ensaladas. No comemos carne.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Living in a rural area the connection is good, but if you need a lot of speed for your work, we may not be the best option.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 784675455119