Help a family at their rural homestead (animals, land and build) or with their campervan build workshop near Santa Catarina, East Algarve

Country

Portugal

Favourited 732 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 53 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family with 2 girls; now 13 and 15 years old, living in a beautiful old abandoned village in the foothills behind Santa Catarina, east Algarve ... just half an hour from the stunning Rio Formosa coastline, near Tavira and Faro
    We run a busy VW campervan rental company, which utilizes our many creative skills as we restore, rebuild and create these small, stylish campers for surfers, families and multinational adventurers to explore this wonderful part of the world.

    We are a creative, active and busy family and have lived here for over 12 years.
    In our spare time ( !!!!) we are passionate about restoring our traditional tiny village, set in an empty wild valley with peaceful hills stretching for miles all around, where we live with 2 horses, 4 dogs and 2 cats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience living in a different culture
    Enjoy living in a beautiful peaceful rural setting and caring for animals
    Learn hands on skills

  • Help

    Help

    We are offering 2 opportunities:
    1. Workawayers to come and help around our rural home. There's much to do here! From building /pointing stone walls, carpentry, gardening, painting... we generally find a job to suit whoever visits! Practical hands on skills and the right attitude is essential! Help with the feeding of our 2 horses, maybe riding if you fancy? so someone with experience with horses would be most welcome, but not essential .. they are easy beasts !
    Occasionally we may need to be away for a night so keeping the animals feed and watered is essential.
    Our land needs tidying, veg plot tended and the carobs, almonds and olives need to be collected, dogs brushed and horses petted, when we are too busy out at work!
    We would like someone who is happy with their own company and space, as we often work long hours in the summer and so the ability to live independently is necessary.
    In the summer our 2 girls are often home and although they are very independent, the easy-going company....Maisie loves her piano and Lara hangs out with her horse!

    2. We are also always on the look out for workers with a high level of technical skills who could be interested in a more long term opportunity. We build campervans to a very high and professional standard. Due to very strict safety laws here we cannot take on anyone to work in the workshop who has no skills or experience with power tools.

    We are looking for helpers initially for one to 2 weeks but this could become longer depending on skills offered and our development of particular projects. Its always changing ! We always need help throughout the summer.

    Van lifers are very welcome !!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a spacious caravan with own cooking facilities, electric

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an isolated traditional village that was deserted 20 years ago. We are slowly bringing it back to life. The nearest beach is only 20 minutes away .We live near a river and our surrounding area is spectacular for walking, mountain biking and horse riding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We initially found our home here after years of travelling Europe in our converted truck and our business is now based on the van life concept, so we enjoy welcoming independently-minded adventurous nomads. Having your own wheels explore this area is important.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 969231367976