Join our international family in Galway City, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, based in beautiful and cultural Galway on the West Coast of Ireland. Niall is a Galway native, whilst Eva grew up in Lisbon, Portugal, and after much traveling and adventuring we decided to settle here. Our two children Alice (3) and David (5) also love living here, in this city that is tiny but never sleeps, and with nature and the Wild Atlantic Way on our doorstep. We love dancing (Eva does salsa and tango) and climbing (that would be Niall) and on the weekends when we can we like to escape into nature and hang out by the beach or in the countryside. We love good food and goofing around with our kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Galway is an amazing city bustling with culture and music. If you want to learn English, Ireland is probably one of the friendliest places in the world to do so! If you wanted to attend classes, there are a number of good schools here and you would have plenty of time as my request for support would be mostly in the evenings and some afternoons. Galway is home to a strong traditional Irish music scene as well as a range of other music events and influences. In July the city is transformed with the Galway International Arts Festival. But there is a festival on pretty much every month of the year. Connemara National Park and the Wild Atlantic Way are also on our doorstep and we love taking drives out there and doing as much exploring as we can.

  • Help

    Help

    Niall works abroad a lot during the week and I would love some support, mostly in the evenings and some afternoons. Help tidy up the mess of the day (we would not ask you to do actual cleaning eg toilets etc - we wouldn't ask that and we have a cleaner coming weekly), cook some meals and interact and play with the children.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a terraced four-bedroom house. It's a beautiful old house from the 1930s, very central, however it is in need of a renovation and makeover!! We are gearing up for the renovation works which will happen this year (2019), but until then I'm afraid you will have to live with (ugly) flowery carpets and wallpaper from the 1950s, which is coming off in places. It's not pretty we confess but it's mostly an aesthetic issue. You would have your own double bedroom. There is only one bathroom (until the renovation happens and then we'll have an extra one, yay!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask that you are generally someone who genuinely likes kids and can engage with them and be kind and fun. We will be here to help you make the most of your time here. We expect you to be honest, we will do the same. Our house is generally clean although there is the natural mess that kids make. Their toys, their arts projects etc. We encourage the kids to tidy up too so that there is a natural cycle of mess - then tidy up. Basically, it's a family home. Smoking not allowed in the house or near the children.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 784662741238