updated  

Help us transform our small farm into paradise near Paal, Belgium

  • Favourited 994 times
  • Last activity: 21 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone!

    We're a mother/daughter team from Belgium on a mission. We would like to create a 'peacefull oasis for animals and humans' with focus on nature and helping people. With that in mind we're starting our non-profit organization in april 2024.

    At this moment (this might change 😂) we have 5 horses, 3 donkeys, 4 sheep, 2 goats, 2 dogs and 1 cat. We try to handle our animals with an R+ training in mind. This means we don't apply force and try to listen/respond to the animals needs/wants.
    We are plant-based diet, so we don't eat any animal products. We're not against meat-eaters, we just won't provide any 😉

    We're busy following courses so we can offer more services when the non-profit grows( for example: relaxation/breathing techniques, hypnosis, equi coaching, clicker training, hebs medicine, meditation, yoga,...).

    We've been hosting since 2014, usually in smaller groups, 2/3 people at the same time.
    But we've decided to change it up a little bit!

    What are we looking for:

    FEBRUARY - MARCH 2024
    6-8 people ( solo travelers are def welcome!)

    What needs to be done:
    A lot 😂
    - We'd like to build a path around our property where people will be able to walk, and experience nature and our animals. This path will be made out of dead branches/recycled materials/live hedges/...
    - General maintenance on the property/buildings/yards
    - Our vegetable garden needs a major update! We're looking into making our own herbs-infuced product, but that's still some time (years) into the future.
    - We're building a Paddock Paradise for all our animals and there will always be updates possible with this.
    - We're trying to plant 30-40 trees/bushes every year to create more diversity, but we have lots of old grown trees that need cutting/pruning/...
    - ...

    What are we offering:

    We offer room and board, so beds and food, the sleeping arrangements will depend on the group. We have multiple options to give as much privacy as we can to people.

    We're flexible on scedule. We ask for 25h/week, but we're open to how we'd divide it in a week.

    A little bit more about us:
    Anke (daughter) 29 y/o, animals are my life, mental health is my second important thing ❤️ I am more up to date with with memes than I'd like, and I prefer to listen to my books instead of reading!

    Marleen (mom) 61 y/o, looking forward to retirement, figured out life is more interesting if you relax, animals are my life too, excited for the next (hopefully) 30 years.

    If you have any questions, feel free to ask!
    And if you made it this far and are still interested, feel free to post a 🍄 in your message 😉❤️

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They could learn a lot about the Belgian culture while travelling the entire country on their free time.
    Learn how to be about animals and being independent.

  • Help

    Help

    Cleaning up the property and fixing fences
    Weeding
    Small maintenance help

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've a couple of rooms available with as much privacy as possible

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In and around the house we have full Highspeed wifi available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, no problem! We've plenty of room!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25h/week

Host ref number: 782942798975

Feedback (52)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















































































Come and help with gardening and DIY projects at our family home in Neupré, Belgium
Help me build my straw bale house in Melsele, Belgium