We are looking for all kinds of help in spectacular Finnmark in North of Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 692 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Spend a time in spectacular Finnmark in North of Norway with fantastic possibilities for outdoor activities on border of Tana River!
    We live in a small sami village by the Tana River, just 4 km from the border to Finland. The village, named Polmak is 18 km from the town of Tana bru where you can find restaurants, shops, Health centre etc.
    The hosts, Andreas (80) and Astri (75) main interests are the nature and everything we can harvest from the nature nearby . We also enjoyu Fishing salmon from Tana River, but also from smaller lakes and rivers. Berrypicking is also an Activity we appriciate and we use the berries for the long artic Winter.
    Gardening is also one of Our hobbies and we grow potatoes, carrots, Strawberries, tomaoes etc.
    Our home has been a small sheep farm 4 years ago, but now we have no animals. During the time of farming we had a little cabin in the Mountains for herding. Still we have it. 7 km from our home.
    The last few years we have build Three cabins and a sauna on our farm. The cabins are rented for tourists, and we also offer caonoes, river boating for tourists.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for all kinds of help at an earilier farm on a very small tourist Company. Main jobs before the winter is help like forest cleaning, painting, fishing, simple carpentry, berrypicking (cloudberries, blueberries, mountain Cranberries), making wood in springtime for the winter.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get your own room with bath room, TV, Kitchenette, internett

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is a small quiet place with only 70 inhabitants. The possibilites for out door life are really spectacular. We have famous Tana River with salmon, Polmak River nearby. Our location is perfect for exploring East Finnmark. It is a short distance to the coast. Bus stop one minute walk. Bus from our home 5 days a week when the children are at School. Train station is in Rovaniemi (Finland) 520 km from our home. Airport in Kirkenes (160 km from Polmak) and Ivalo(Finnland, 220 km from our home)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 4 hours







Host ref number: 781961757338