Learn to grow your own food, living with a family in the beautiful Southern Highlands, Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a happy family of a well-travelled couple (a farmer and an artist) with two kids (9 and 12) and a menagerie of animals on a 100 acre farm in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW, two hours from both Sydney and Canberra and 40 minutes from the beaches of the south coast. We have a vegetable garden, chickens. pigs and cattle so we eat as much organic meat, eggs and veg as we can (seasonally) and love to bake bread and make jam etc. We have three lovely horses which we would like you to groom or ride if you have experience. Mat is a farm manager for other places and I am an artist with a studio down the road. We had a nomadic life and backpacked for years but now live a simple life in a small cottage, we mostly work away from the farm during the day and the children go to school every day and come together to share meals in the evening. Harriet teaches basketry and weaving classes and makes sculpture and lighting and Mat has a fencing business too. We love introducing our kids to people from all over the world and we have hosted many short and long-stay helpers over the last 10 years (through Wwoof and HelpX) in our old lady "Chachi" the vintage caravan, many of whom we are still in contact with. In fact, our first helper still lives in the area!! This region has lots of bushwalks, rainforests and waterfalls so helpers with their own vehicle will be able to get the most out of being here. The voluntary help will be building and renovation, gardening cleaning and home maintenance. We are new to workaway but we can give you whatsapp details for previous helpers if you want a reference.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a qualified English language teacher so I can help people from a non-english speaking background improve their language skills. We will teach them what we know about gardening, working with animals and living the country life. Also they will share our home cooked meals around the table in the evenings conversing with the children and become as one of the family members. When we can have social gatherings, parties we are happy to include our helpers and introduce them to our friends. We always try to accommodate people's cultural, religious or outdoor passions and provide as much information and direction to local adventures, shopping, churches or outings to make their time away from the farm satisfying. Previous helpers have said they have learned a lot about ways of living simply and closer to nature. If you are lucky enough to be with us at the right time, we can take you out on a camping trip to sleep in a swag in the bush which is our favourite way to get away on weekends. We have bicycles available for them to cycle into the village which has everything you would need - cafes, post office, chemist, butcher, supermarket, galleries, gift shops, pub. It is very quiet here and a good place to recharge and re-set before your travels.

  • Help

    Help

    Generally the daily help is gardening, weeding and home maintenance but we would really like to do some small renovation projects around the house like building a small deck and installing an outdoor shower with privacy screen so a helper with building experience would be ideal. We really like people who are able to do tasks independently and without too much supervision needed. Nature lovers are probably going to feel most comfotable out in the country.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helpers will have free accommodation and as much vegetable from the garden, herbs, free range eggs, homemade jam etc as they want. We will buy them enough tasty food for breakfasts and lunches from the supermarket but also they will share our home cooked meals around the table in the evenings conversing with the children and become as one of the family members.We have a cute old vintage caravan in the garden called "Chachi" which has a double bed, power and a kitchen. It is quite old, small and can be cold so we are happy for our helpers to spend time in the house with us by the fire! If workers have their own van, tent or camper they can also set that up in the garden near the caravan and use it as a living room. Your own toilet is provided but we share a main bathroom for showers (although one of the projects on our list is to build an outside shower cubicle!). We have wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much amazing nature around these parts. We have numerous look-outs bushwalks, waterfalls, beaches close-by and even a dam on our property that has trout stocked in it for fishing. There are buses from town to Canberra and Sydney and we have bicycles for your use but having your own car would be best. If you absolutely need to have paid work, we can help you with suggestions of how to get work nearby or possibly organise paid farm work outside of your workaway hours. Although we are open-minded and tolerant, we would prefer non-smokers, our workers must keep the caravan clean and personal hygiene is very important. It is not possible for us to cater to vegan diets as we mostly cook meat with every meal and we keep animals for meat. Driver's licence essential.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

Host ref number: 779735271819