Help with some home and land maintenance near Mullumbimby, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2019

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a beautiful, hilltop location with 1.2 ha of sloping land, ocean views and occasional visits from koalas and wallabies. I originate from England, have been in Australia since 2007 and became a citizen in 2012. I'm a semi-retired teacher and have travelled and worked widely around the world. I have a young dog, Rosie, who is a great, playful companion. I was a volunteer myself for a couple of years when I was younger!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have travelled widely around the world over the past 50 years, and have lived and worked in many developing countries, so have many cross-cultural stories to share. I worked in International development for many years before becoming a university teacher, so I have a lot of experience of working with different cultures, which I much enjoy. I moved to Australia in 2007, from being based in Britain, and love the relaxed life of rural New South Wales. I speak French and enjoy helping visitors to improve their English, if they are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for willing volunteers, a couple or two friends, to work with me in brush-cutting the ever-growing vegetation on my sloping land, and to carry out simple carpentry work and outdoor painting on my house. Past experience would be welcome, but is not essential - I have some skills that I'm happy to share. I shall generally be working with you.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have comfortable accommodation in my spare bedroom, with your own bathroom. All meals will be provided, but your help is welcome both in preparing and cleaning up, and we'll have plenty of time for conversation, if you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My place is about 5 minutes by car from Mullumbimby, 'the biggest little town in Australia', 15 minutes from the ocean at Brunswick Heads and 20 minutes from the lighthouse at iconic Byron Bay. Inland are rainforest walks, waterfalls and beautiful sites to visit. There is no public transport near my home, so it is convenient, but not essential, if you have your own vehicle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 776915628124