Relax in a quiet house in countryside, share culture, explore and discover local places in Màs d'Avall, Costur, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Lara & Igor, two alternative guys who are living isolated at the countryside because we love peace and nature. We also like travelling and getting into other cultures, cooking, listening a so wide range of music and cinema, etc. To get fun we enjoy playing games with others and socialize with friends on weekends.

    About our family project, Lara is currently pregnant, we will be parents on November, so we need your help to get some stuff ready before then (please check the help section).

    Please, if you are allergic, be aware you are sharing the accomodation with Katana and Nora, our cat friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Do you want a peaceful stay in touch with nature? Do you want to immerse in Spanish or Valencian / Catalan cultures? Do you want to do excursions through Spanish unknown countryside? Do you just want to have a good time and meet new friends? This could be your choice in either any of these cases.

    We would like to fix our broken English, and if you want to learn or practise, we also speak Spanish and Valencian-Catalan. We are also open to learn a bit of your language if your motherlanguage is another, and we are happy to share cultures, gastronomy, music, get fun, etc. Valencian Community is the region of paella so you will be able to taste the REAL PAELLA, the healthy Orxata drink, the not so healthy Carajillo, or Calçots typical from Catalonia. Here our mother language is Valencian, a Catalan dialect, but we also speak Spanish. So people in this zone speak both Valencian Catalan and Spanish as natives. We can also take you to places only locals know like small typical towns or hidden beaches.

  • Help

    Help

    Since Lara is pregnant and must rest, Igor needs help with these tasks:

    -Pick up olives to make oil.
    -Put a fence to avoid our future kid to fall.
    -Help us preparing the winter vegetable garden.
    -Change our house's water tank.
    -Remove the weeds.

    We ask an about 3-4 hours of work for food and sleeping. The duration of work each day is not something fixed: no work on weekends! ​and for example, picking up olives will take 2 days almost the full day, so if you do 8 hours each of these days, later you will have 2 days off besides the weekend.

    The tasks are not hard to do, we don't mind if you are a boy, a girl, or 2 persons... Other years, Lara helped Igor with the tasks :)

    Please be aware, that there won't be meat or fish at our home. Due being solar-powered we have a fridge but not a freezer. It would spend a good portion of the battery. And yes, as you guessed, we are veggie.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are open to do conversations either in spanish and catalan. We would like to also speak in english whenever it is possible: Igor looks forward to get rid of his bad pronunciation. And you need a bit of patience with Lara, she wants to loose fear to speak in english :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is isolated in the countryside. Closest town is Costur, of only 500 inhabitants.

    Despite being isolated, WiFi works properly here and we have a Netflix account you can freely use. We can also offer you entertainment with more interaction... We have a collection of board games and a good variety of traditional couch multiplayer videogames ;)

    At the outdoor of the house there is also a small pool you can freely use but it may already start to get cold on October.

    This is a stay for either 1 or 2. We are ok with 1 guest but you may come with anyone else if you want. There is only 1 room left for guests and we can only put 1 or 2 single beds in it. Sorry, we don't have a double or twin bed available besides ours.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are free about how to spend your spare time... You can travel by your own and just use our home as a really quiet place where to sleep for free, or you can spend the time with us if you feel right with it.

    If you are interested in going out with us:

    At weekends we often socialise at our native Castellon city at about 30kms or 40 minutes by car. Also, on October (when we need your help this year) we often enjoy going to the mountain to pick up mushrooms, we can also show you some charming village during the way.

    We can adapt to what you prefer for the weekend: socialize with people, revisit the beautiful corners of our province, walk through the mountains in search of your inner self. Any plan seems fine to us!

    If you prefer to visit places by your own, other common visits at our province and the times by car:

    The picturesque Vilafames at about half hour. The artistic Fanzara and Benicassim at the coastside at about 40 minutes. The big city of Valencia at 1 hour. And at 1 hour and half, the touristic towns of Peñiscola and Morella.

    If you are not coming by car, we can also take you to the station of Castellon where you can take a train either to Benicassim, Valencia or Peniscola.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is no problem of parking here for campervans or whatever. We also have an old caravan here.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Ask before, since we have 2 cats , so they may be scared.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 776863652973