Come and learn about the farming lifestyle on our paradise in Van Anda, Canada



Favourited 24 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Down to earth welcoming and caring family of 3. We live on 65 hectares of forest with ponds on Texada Island in BC. Farm is housing 3 of us with 1 dog, 4 cats, 6 Morgan horses, two cows, 20 chikens, 5 ducks, 5 piggies and lots of birds, frogs and bats. We were told, we are living in paradise. Yes we do live in the paradise in constant growing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In last 7 years we had many volunteers from all around the world staying with us from 2 weeks to 8 months. It was a nice experience to learn from them and their learning from us, about our fully sustainable life style here on the farm/ranch. Living with animals is very rewarding and life learning experience.

  • Help


    Every day we have to feed our animals so that mean no free weekend but we do have free hours every day. We do organic gardening, manufacture organic fertilizers (no manures). Somettime we have to fix fencing or make new one. We want to make shelters for our horses and cows. Horses do have their rooms in the building but outside shelters would be nice. We have some new buildings that we work on to finnish so there is opportunity to learn carpentry skills. We do collect firewood and falling the trees. We have also started offering farm stay accommodations so we have guests on the farm. Mostly families with children.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Croatian and some French

  • Accommodation


    Private room with shared rest of the open concept large house. Day starts around 8 :00 am. with feeding animals first. Everybody is cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In time off there are swimming places around. Hiking or biking. We provide ride to the town if wanted. We must say that was not often desire of our volunteers. Farm is big, open with many things to do and see.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 235527159447