Come and help on our small farm nestled on the slopes of the Canadian Rocky Mountains

Country

Canada

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We welcome you to share the beauty of the Canadian Rocky Mountains surrounding our farm. We are a small scale pesticide free , natural method grower of cherries, strawberries, raspberries currants & sweet corn. Something is always needing weeding, picking, painting , gathering etc. as there's no end to the many tasks required to keep us in order;-when not working there are 5 national & 9 provincial parks to explore as well as the extensive # of local lakes for swimming & fishing Not to forget the longest stretch of wetlands along the Columbia River right here in the "neighborhood"!
    Greyhound runs through Golden 50 k north of the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Certainly language skills if someone desires to improve their English We have teaching background

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love some website updating! Our gardens are needing weeding & organizing & planting in May & June as a rule. Cherry ,raspberry & strawberry picking begins in July & goes through late September as we have everbearing strawberries & raspberries There are endless indoor & outdoor tasks & repairs to get done

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fully equipped camp trailer with double bed , also a pullout double in kitchen area, gas range, micro, refrigerator & freezer and sink. also a shower ,sink &toilet. With electric , propane & water hookup

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We also rent 2 houses on an online rental platform, so generally keep our "living noise" respectful. We are pet and smoke free in buildings and a drug free property entirely

    We are in the middle of 9 National & Provincial parks so there is no end to activity When able we are happy to take workers to town or other p laces we need to go to. the summer is busy for us so we do not get out to tour much but can sometimes find others who invite our workers along

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 776682331318