Help on a farm near Izmir, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fellow Workawayers,
    My name is Ibrahim. I live on my farm near Izmir. Izmir is a big city in the west coast of Turkey. My wife and son stay in the city on weekdays. We are together on the farm over the weekends.
    I used to work as a computer programer. I wanted to live a natural lifestyle and I have quitted my job in 2014.

    We grow vegetables and fruits just for ourselves in the farm. We grow our products as much as possible by ecological method. I have 50 m2 polytunnel, two dogs and 100 - 150 chickens in the farm. I had goats but I sold my goats. Don't ask me why.

    I would like to work at other farms in other countries as a workawayer in the near future, but first I want to gain some workaway experience by hosting fellow workawayers from all around the world. I also think hosting workawayers at my farm will help me to improve my English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I believe you can experience and enjoy my simple natural life at my farm and also hopefully you will get to know about a new culture&language.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with simple gardening jobs. If you have experience in farming they are easy jobs such as vegetable planting, harvesting, hoeing and collecting stones. Working hours are quite flexible.
    Furthermore; I would appreciate it if you can help me to improve my English.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a simple house at my farm, you can stay there or a wagon. We are not vegetarians but we usually cook vegetables.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of historical places& ancient ruins if you are interested near Izmir like Ephesus and Bergama (Pergamon). My farm is also not far from some beaches, they are only 20-30 km from the farm. In order to go to all those places, you can use public transport which is pretty affordable.
    I can pick you up from the airport or from the bus station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Star is on tomato
My guest Reza is cooking aubergine
My chicken is egging
My guest Tamer waters walnut trees
pea and green onion
My wife in the polytunnel
The waterfall distance is 7 km from my farm house
When I and my son go to the waterfall
My farm house





Host ref number: 776358861948