Help with farmwork and renovations near Izmir, Turkey

Country

Turkey

updated  

Favourited 104 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is 40 km inland from Izmir, 5 km away from nearest town, Turgutlu. We originally built barns for breeding sheep, however the buildings have been vacant for a few years now and need a facelift. I can use help with painting, small construction and art projects, cleaning and landscaping.

    There are also around 200 olive and several fruit trees. Our main farming activity is to produce organic olive oil. We harvest olives by hand-picking in October-November for several weeks. In the winter, we prune our trees and prepare the field for the next year.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer basic farm experience, communal living, travel stories and an introduction to local culture. The most unique experience will be to see life in a traditional Aegean town away from mass tourism. I am happy to show you around some less-known historical and nature sites like Sardis, Mount Sipylus, Lydian tombs of Bintepe. You can always reach other well-known locations like Ephesus by taking local buses.
    P.S. I am an experienced traveler myself and cycled three continents extensively for five years. I also live in Germany for some parts of the year.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with painting, farm work, gardening, digging, lifting, cooking, cleaning, creative art projects etc. Main requirement is fitness for physical work, all other skills offered by volunteers are welcome. I hope to make this a communal effort and the project is open to other creative ideas.

    As we wrap up the olive harvest season, the main tasks will include olive oil packaging, cleaning and treating our trees, fertilising the field, tangerine picking and various little DIY projects around the farm.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get a private room in town where we own a small apartment building. It is also possible to stay at the farm, there are three bedrooms there, usually good for afternoon naps. I am vegan but not restrictive about the type of food cooked. There is no unlimited broadband internet, but I may enable limited hotspot on a my mobile phone for messaging and basic access only, no videos or movies unfortunately.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Izmir is a large metropolitan city for all shopping, entertainment and transportation options. You may be able to catch a ride with me from Istanbul where I also spend time occasionally. I am also on Warmshowers for bicycle travelers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 358396627358