Help! We need your help in renovating our 110 year old home in Maastricht, the Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    226

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy, multi-lingual family who have settled down (for the first time in their lives) in Maastricht, the Netherlands. We speak English, Dutch and Spanish in our home. As international teachers we are always around people from all over the world and we would love to extend and share our home with someone who would like to help us fix up our house.

    We live with our 3 young boys, 2 dogs, old cat, canary and two rabbits in an old fixer-upper (1905) that we are slowly renovating. The house is located in Heugem, a small village on the edge of Maastricht. On a bicycle the old city centre is about 15 minutes from our home. Yet the hills and beautiful country side is also within a 20 minute bicycling distance. Maastricht is situated in the far south of the Netherlands and also lies a mere cycling ride from Germany and Belgium.

    We are looking for someone who can help us with the various forms of construction and renovation. Experience is a plus, but not necessary. A flexible attitude and willingness to learn is the most important :-) At this time we are doing quite a bit of carpentry, reconstructing and putting in a new bathroom, finishing and putting in ceilings, doing general handy-work, painting and gardening. Sharing your cooking talents is very welcome but not a necessity. A love for animals and a willingness to help out walking our dogs, or playing with the boys is greatly appreciated. We are also looking for someone who could house-sit over the summer.

    We are a vegetarian family and don't eat meat, fish, nor chicken. We would ask you respect this and not eat it yourself while in our home. We don't smoke and are very health and eco-conscious. For personal reasons we are looking for a workawayer who does not smoke themselves and is respectful of our life-style.

    In exchange for your help you can have a private room as your bedroom. We all share the same bathroom which so far has worked out fine. Additionally, there is semi-private entry to the house you can use. Of course the rest of the house is open to you as well and you are free to borrow one of our bicycles while you are here. Although we are not in the position to offer you luxury, we are a warm, hospitable family that you can share your stories and experiences with. We are very appreciative of your help!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will find a very open-minded household with a warm and loving family. If you are looking for a place where you are not judged, where you can be yourself and do some soul searching, this is the place. On a practical level you will have the opportunity to practice your English and/or Dutch and learn new skills in terms of how to renovate a house. Our pets and kids are very skilled at teaching you how to live in the moment. The surroundings allow for you to reflect and ponder about the next stage of your life. In return we hope you will want to share your stories, your humor and positive energy. We hope you will work and play and be an active participant in our household. Your presence will teach our kids to value diversity and your cooking will introduce new flavors into our household. Of course, your help in fixing our home will get us further in our journey to realizing our dream home :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Help with the construction and renovations to our old home. For example, help with the attic, insulating walls in various rooms, doing carpentry work, insulating the roof from the inside, refurbishing and possibly repairing the wooden floors (or help lay alternative floor). There are also ceilings to be fixed and re-done. General clean-up, Gardening, Painting, and general help around the house is also helpful. Dog care and playing with the boys.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, Lower Intermediate Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private room on ground floor. Share bathroom with family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can borrow and use one of our bikes and explore Maastricht and surroundings. Public transport in the Netherlands is very good but may be a bit pricey, depending on where you wish to go. We can give you lots of information about the sights, where to go, what to visit, and so on. There are always interesting things happening in Maastricht (many of them free of charge). There are also cheap alternatives for traveling, such as couch-surfing and car-sharing. You are free to read our many books :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Emeline working in the attic - doing an amazing job :-)
summer fun
wonderful dinners and conversations
with Zouhair, who did an awesome job insulating our attic :-)
Evan (one of our workawayers) lacquering wood...
our boys help by making boats for the pond in our yard
another photo of the back yard - there is always an opportunity to garden.
15 minutes cycling away: the ancient city of Maastricht
our house
our back garden in the summertime













Host ref number: 791448367231