We are looking for someone to help with our horses and daily activities on a hobby farm in Minnesota, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    226

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm:
    We have a little of everything. We have 4 riding horses and a pony at our farm.
    We live rural and have a few cows, pigs, dogs, cats and of course horses.
    This property has been in my husbands family for generations. He has both experience with crop farming and raising livestock. He used to be a dairy farmer.
    Over the years I have touched many aspects of the horse world. Anything from training and competing with horses, driving, breeding etc. I embrace natural horsemanship, and maintain my own horses feet as a barefoot trimmer.
    I am Dutch and my husband is American.
    We both enjoy meeting new people and sharing knowledge and experiences. you will live in our home and be part of the family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our area is part of the 'grain belt'. Our views are over crop fields, not houses and businesses. We live very rural. Living like this is different from living in town. We deal with all the aspects of growing food for the world population. Relying on your environment and the weather every day. The challenges and benefits. Being a farmer is different in every country.
    Of course you will learn about horses, about training and care.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help with normal day to day life on a farm. The perfect person loves animals in general, and has the desire to gain more horse knowledge and experience from this opportunity. Everything is small scale. Just a few horses, dogs, cats, cows, chickens and pigs. The necessary work load is not heavy but the time to explore and have fun is endless. You will help handle, feed and clean with an opportunity to learn how to ride.

    One person can easily handle what needs to be done. We can accommodate 2 if it happens to work out that way.

    If you really want to connect to a horse, it won't happen overnight. That is why require a 3 month minimum stay. Learning more about horses takes time. If you already are an experienced horse person we can discuss a different time frame.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying with us in our home on the farm. You will have a bedroom and private bathroom (it does have a washer and dryer that I use). We have WIFI, Netflix and satellite TV. You will have a TV in your room, but you can use the one in the family room or living room too. We provide evening dinner, and you will have access to the kitchen to make breakfast and lunch. I will try to accommodate preferences in food as much as possible. Make sure to mention special needs. This is a no smoking household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We enjoy interacting with other people. We don't mind a new person living in our house. We do expect you to be respectful to us, our belongings and kind to our animals. You will be expected to clean up after yourself. There will be down time. You will be invited to do things with us. Like going shopping, dinner, movie, fairs, parties family gatherings etc. when possible. But you should be able to entertain yourself as well. Minnesota is not know for its tourism. If there is something you want to do or see we try to accommodate.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    (max 25 hours) -Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 775959882918