Join a good cause and help me with animals in Nicosia, Cyprus

Country

Cyprus

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For the last four years, I have been involved in animal rights activism and animals rescue. Specifically I founded the 269life Animal Liberation in Cyprus that is a global movement since 2012 and first started in Israel. At the same time I found this land which was originally just a field among fields and I started to care for it until I created a small oasis.

    Through the years I've hosted more than 60 dogs, 30 cats, 20 chickens and roosters. At the moment I live with 12 cats, two dogs (Fani and Sarissa), one sheep (Romeo) and one goat (Aura); they're all really friendly. In the property at the moment I have around 60 fruit trees (of the summer season) and in the winter I'll be growing seasonal vegetables.

    The farm is quite isolated and has almost no light pollution, making the night sky a beautiful sight. Our trees are already producing delicious local fruits which you are welcome to indulge in and enjoy straight from nature. My aim is to become as self sustainable as possible when it comes to nutrition.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It would be my duty to reveal Cyprus to any guests visiting our island and to learn our way of living through a local's perspective. I often travel in Cyprus, there's still so much left to be explored and you would be welcome to join me in this quest!

  • Help

    Help

    I'm interested in getting some help with the daily necessities around the farm, specifically on animal and land care. The farm is constantly developing and I'm open to receiving your contribution in ideas on how to improve it even more. There might also be some construction work, which would be a plus for somebody to have knowledge on.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house on the farm is a small prefabricated metal construction with one bedroom and one living room joint with the kitchen. The guests will occupy this second room. It has a sofa bed and I will try to accommodate you as best as possible.

    Whatever food is available in (or outside) the house is available for you to cook and consume

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's plenty of space to park any sort of vehicle if you so happen to travel with one

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    of course

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 774923197684