Come and help us on our hobby farm in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/12/2019

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Emerald Mountains Farm is nestled in the beauty of the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia. We're a working professional couple (no children) with a hobby farm and would like to get it to the next level.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're active citizens in our business community as well as many connections in agriculture..."foodie culture" is popular in this area and there is much to experience. There is also a strong live theatre movement in the area which we are also involved with from time to time and there is an opportunity for a guest to be involved, depending on the time of year, for local productions.

  • Help

    Help

    We raise sheep and chickens and are looking for help with fencing, small building projects, gardening and maintenance of our home.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private furnished bedroom inside our home with full access to all amenities including full bathroom, highly equipped kitchen and pantry, laundry, wi-fi, digital TV (Netflix+broadcast TV) and most of everything else that makes a nicely equipped home a comfortable place to be. We are fresh food/cooking oriented most of the time and have enough for one more person at breakfast or dinner time. Of course, our guest is welcome to prepare food with whatever they like beyond what we're preparing for ourselves. We also have the equipment for most projects on the property plus two vehicles that we are constantly driving to a number of locations. Our property is a short 3K bike ride (we supply a bicycle) from downtown Armstrong which features unique shops, grocery, hardware, liquor, fast food, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Okanagan Valley in Canada is a traveller's dream location - and for a Workaway location, hard to surpass. In the spring, there is the return of all things green and return to hiking trails and amazing local bicycle routes over country roads, in summer there are freshwater lakes for swimming and sports plus outdoor music events, fall is the harvest and very active with much to see and experience, winter is for skiers and the arts (there is an active live theatre and music community in the Armstrong/Vernon area, with opportunities to join productions depending on the time of year). Again, we supply a bicycle for exploring the area, but would be using our vehicles mostly for tasks and errands. We're active and respectful hard-working people and expect to welcome someone with a similar work ethic and respect for our home, property, pets and livestock :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 774768571183