Help a sculpture artist create his next masterpiece in Oss Netherlands



Favourited 119 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Hello there, my name is Moussa. I moved to the Netherlands three years ago from Syria and and have been working as a sculptor here in a small town called Heesch, which is south of Oss. I hosted three Americans who told me about this website and I became very curious about it. I dont speak much English and only about 15% Deutch but I have a daughter who speaks English perfect who can translate. All of my other children are studying english in school and can have some conversation with you as well! I have a big family and most would consider us very hospitable and welcoming to any guests. You will get to know a bit about middle eastern hospitality and the traditions we share.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My native language is Arabic so if there is anybody who speaks Arabic or would like to learn how to speak Arabic I can help you with this. I f you have any interest in Middle Eastern culture I have lived in Syria and Turkey before moving to the Netherlands and can educate you about my home and my native culture. The schedule you can expect to work is similar to most workaway hosts where you work no longer than five hour days five days a week and have weekends off to explore. If you work longer days you can expect to have more days off. Sometimes when you get in the mindset you can spend all day working on a project.

  • Help


    I would preferably like to find individuals who are professional sculptors. My medium of choice is granite, marble, alabastor, a different variety of metal and recycled material which I sculpt mostly with machine and hammer. I would like to find somebody who can work the machines I have and help me from start to finish with each piece. I have attached pictures below of some examples of my work. On average you can estimate two weeks for a small piece and a month or longer for a piece that is four feet tall. As I said before I would preferably like somebody with experience and somebody who will be dedicated to working with me , because of this there is no timeline. If we get along well and have similar taste in art you can stay for as long as you choose to. Please contact me if you find interest in this project and we can talk further about an opportunity to begin a masterpiece.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I have a very welcoming family and my wife is an excellent cook. We can provide three square meals a day and a space to sleep in my art gallery which has a bed, bathroom, shower, a kitchen and heating. You have your own space to live and can come by the house whenever you decide to which is only about a ten minute walk. If you find interest in using a bicycle we can lend you one to use. We usually eat traditional middle eastern food which most travelers find very refreshing after eating the local cuisine for a long time. We can also cook European or American food like potatoes, pastas, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area that I live in Netherlands is approximetely 120km Southeast (1 hour and a half) from Amsterdam and 100km East (1 hour) from Rotterdam, I live in the country and there is alot of art inspiration that surrounds me and also a quiet atmosphere to think about the next art piece. It is very easy to go to either city by train, bus or hitchhike if you are interested in exploring. Many people want to just visit the large cities but in almost every city you will find beautiful archtecture and a strong culture. If you have a curiosity in exploring other countries, Germany and Belgium are very close. The closest big city in Germany (Duisburg) is only one hour away and to get to Brussels or Gent it is approximetely two hours. When you decide to leave you can find very cheap flights to almost any country at an average of 10 Euro to 50 Euro. Netherlands is in a very good location to fly to any country in Scandinavia, South Europe, Eastern Europe, North Africa, United Kingdom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 773954247619