Yoga, permaculture, retreat and ecolearning centre in its baby shoes in Benelauria, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our project is a home in the heart of the serrenia de Ronda, Andalusia that has been abandonned for 7 years. Under its new stewardship, the property is undergoing a rebirth with a new shared intention: make it into a thriving growth, wellness, and learning-oriented cultural hub where people can more deeply access their human potential while rejuvenating in the hills of one of the most bio-diverse region in Spain. In sum: an eco community and learning center where people can get inspired about yoga, meditation, permaculture, and simply a healthy and ecological lifestyle.

    The project is in its baby shoes, and much work is needed before we can open up to the public. Excpect as a Workawayer a 'primitive chic' experience. That is, we live in a huge house with lots of potential - with unoperational sauna and jacuzzi (unless you can get it fixed ;) ) . At the moment however, the water is not running yet and the walls need repainting. We shower in a bassin which is permanently running on the other field. We call it our natural spa :D a nd have a squatting composting toilet (squatting is more healthy than sitting).

    This is a community non-profit project, and we are doing our best for fundraising, but we do not have a budget for volunteers at the moment. That is why we ask for a 30eur contribution per week to cover the food costs. If you wish to cook for yourself and buy your own food that is also a possibility as long as the kitchen rules are respected. We require 3 hours work per day from volunteers - from 9 to 12, 5 days per week . This excludes community tasks like cooking and cleaning. In exchange you can get to enjoy the beatiful house and its surroundings.

    Expect a nice atmoshpere - sun - music - yoga - and good food.
    In your free time you can go on hikes, go to the river, practice actobatics (we have aireal silks), craft, go wildpicking medicinal plants, or simply relaaaax.

    About the food: the communual kitchen and the meals we prepare are vegan. Breakfast is everyone's responsibility but lunch and dinner we have together. If you do wish some dairy products, we can get you in touch with local producers of eggs, goat cheese. Meat is not allowed in the kitchen.

    We welcome travellers, people that travel with their van, backpacking, ...

    We live close to the village - a 15 min walk where you can find a supermarket, a tobacco shop, and, ... well that's it really. But the people are very nice and there is an overall nice atmosphere :D
    The property is bordering a natural park - sierra de grazalema - where you can get to go on lots of beautiful hikes.

    If you send a message try to make it personal, so it shows that you have read this information and that you are truly interested to come join our enthousiast team of volunteers :) And answer the question: if you had an animal totem, what animal would it be?

    At the moment the only permanent resident is Helena:
    (a little bit about myself) I am 23 years old girl, climate activist, and passionate about everything that smells sustainable and feels green. I love practicing sports, yoga , play music, like vegan cooking and working in the garden.That is me in a nutshell :)
    Long story short: I left Belgium in July 2020 with my bicycle after graduating a masters in development cooperation in agriculture. I passed eco communities and retreat centers, to deepen my knowledge about permaculture and biodynamics; and to expand my yoga practice. On my trip I had the most incredible encounters - and the universe brought me here, at the beginning of this eco retreat project.
    I am a yoga teacher and started classes in the neighbouring village once a week. But if you like, I do my self practice in the mornings, welcome to join! Or i can give classes on some days :)
    Further I am a passionate garderer. I don't know everything, but by now I have a good luggage to get the garden going. I know especially a lot about composting and composting toilets.
    I can teach and share my knowledge on yoga, alternative living, making health care products, crafting, ...

    Other permanents are our two black cats: Nena and Ishi - and our wurms in the compost
    The latter won't come in your bed, the first sometimes do

    Welcome :) I am sure you will like it here

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach and share my knowledge about:
    - yoga and meditation - you are welcome to join my classes in the village or I can give classes here
    - alternative and ecological living
    - making zero-waste health care products
    - languages (fluent in Dutch, English and French)
    - we can make music together
    - Permaculture and gardening
    - we can craft, make dreamcatchers
    - we can practice slacklining , acroyoga, ...

    The village is a very typical Spanish pueblo and the athmosphere is really nice
    you can go eat tapas in the local restaurant or enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the serrenia de ronda

  • Help

    Help

    The priority at the moment is the establishment of the permaculture garden. We made the beds and are now mulching, sowing, planting. Our goal is to become as self-suffecient as possible and soon we will be able to start harvesting from our own garden.
    Other works in the garden - which was completely overgrown before - keep on continueing (trimming, cleaning, ...)
    Soon we will also start repainting the whole building - get your paint brushes ready ;)
    We also find it important that volunteers connect with the help and the project. Is there something you would really feel passionate about to do here (like building a biodigester, or making a mural painting)? we are open to hear your ideas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be sleeping in the house - privately, in one of its beautiful rooms with private bathroom - although no running water :D
    There are 5 rooms in total. 2 with a double bed and three with a single bed.
    If you come with a tent and prefer sleeping in the garden , or with your van, that is also just fine

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    yes we are open for digital nomads we don't have wifi but we have perfect 4G connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    very welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 958162133893