Come and join our family near the Norwegian border and enjoy Wilderness in Värmland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 263 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    308

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    *** Season 2019 is closed now. For next year please check our profile after Xmas ***
    Robo and Dada welcome you to our site! Inspirational summer light, beautiful forest with pitoresque lakes just express what we all are looking for - well being and health. Tempted to come and relax with us ?

    We acquired this place in 2014 and have together with volunteers changed it into a nice place to live. Some volunteers became long stayers and some even sent their sister. We try to balance applicants on gender, interests and age. We learned a lot from our volunteers who came from all around the world and welcome new ideas & inspiration.

    We have bigger property in the forest, only 10 kilometres from norwegian border, next to the lake Tvällen. We are looking for volunteers who will help with general maintenance, painting, firewood preparation, reconstruction/renovation, some gardening and help in the kitchen. We have started with sustainable way of life, such as parmaculture gardening, breeding chickens etc...

    We speak English and Slovak, some Swedish, German and Russian. We truly enjoy practising languages during calm evenings and we are enthusiasts in cooking, mainly continental style, but we also give a try to exotic ones. Robo is a good fisherman and I like gardening.

    In our house live also Ushi and Chilli - chihuahuas, plus 3 cats.

    There is not really an easy access by public transport. You can reach us by train to Arvika or Charlottenberg (Sweden) from Oslo Gardermoen airport. It is a remote forest here, so be prepared for a real Swedish wildlife :)

    Living outside of buzzy cities isn’t for everyone. If you want to spend few weeks hiking, wildlife watching, biking, fishing, kayaking or just pondering nature, please write. It will make you a one happy workawayer. And if you are 2, bring your friend. We prefer mixed couple for at least 2 weeks, age more than 21.

    We are looking forward to meet you.
    Dada & Robo

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Directly in the area are kilometres of marked hiking trails and interpretive walks. You can borrow bicycles or if you want to try fishing, right next to the summer houses are lakes with pikes, perches and other white fish. We also have canoes and there is a small pier if you decide to swimm.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with gardening, painting, fire wood processing, renovation, cutting down bushes and grass.

    The ideal workawayer for us is open, friendly and practical person, age at least 21 years. We prefer if you have skills in similar work already. Minimum stay is 14 days. Due to different type of work we welcome workaywers as couple.

    Please note that we are not a company or institution with insurance for volunteers. Although we will of course make every precaution to prevent accidents, we strongly recommend you buy a travel insurance that covers also manual work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Slovak, Russian, little Swedish and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in the guesthouse - there are 2 bedrooms, simple kitchen and bathroom. Bedlinen and towels are provided. We eat lunch and many times also dinner together. We would appreciate help with preparing the food, washing up and final cleaning in the kitchen.

    We have unlimited wi-fi in the main house and camp. Mobile signal is sufficient, but you have to find a right place.

    In summer nights there might be mosquitos, we recommend to use repellents (available in our house).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    SOMETHING FOR FISHERMEN

    Only a 5 minute walk from the Camp is the lake Tvällen, which has approximately 100 acres. In the surrounding area (up to about 20 kilometres) there are many more lakes, some smaller, but some large with almost a thousand acres.
    There is no size limit set for fish; you can fish all year long and the amount of fish you catch is not limited (besides the trout area). Welcome are especially the catch & release fans, those who prefer the beautiful experience rather than a freezer full of fish. We own two motor boats on nearby lakes and 2-3 more on the bigger lakes.

    TOURISM

    The best way how to explore beautiful nature of Sweden and local cultural monuments is to take a trip with bikes or on foot. An interesting experience is to take the “Path of seven farms” (7 torpsleden), which goes from Lekvattnet and follows the original trail of Finnish settlers.

    OPEN-AIR MUSEUMS OF FINNISH SETTLERS

    Settlement Ritamäki is one of the farms that is best preserved. They will offer you a simple refreshment in the summer – coffee and awesome, freshly baked waffles. There are many other settlements nearby as well, for example Kvarntorp or Purala.

    ROWING AND CANOE

    There are many great places around this area suitable for a boat or canoe, as a day trip or a trip lasting several days. On lakes Tvällen and Kymmen or nearby rivers there are many possibilities to spend lovely time. There is access on our lake Tvällen for swimming.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Robo (with glasses) with Sima & Francesco - workawayers who helped in May
Ushi (mother, 8 years) and Chilli (daughter, 6)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

























Host ref number: 771511383944

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more