Help me with my garden! in Åland, Finland

Country

Finland

updated  

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in Åland, The Aland Islands, in Scandinavia. Åland is an autonomy belonging to Finland with own parliament and government. 27000 people in a beautiful archipelago with thousends of islands. I live in the countryside in a traditional old, big house with a large garden. I need help to put the garden asleep for winter and to finish some projects.
    I work during daytime and you will be alone a lot.
    You share my home with me with own bedrooms in the house. I love cooking and will prepare lunch before I leave for work.
    I need help every end of October and beginning of November, arrival time can be discussed. You work maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week. My suggestion is that you keep your free days in the week, then you can come with me to the town, Mariehamn, visit museums or whatever you like and take a local bus back home. Or, if you are naturelovers, you can just make hiking tours in the beautiful surroundings.
    You need to be prepared to work outdoors. The weather can be everything from sunny days plus 10-15 C-degrees to wet around zero.
    I am 64, have travelled a lot, love foreign cultures and meeting new people.
    I accept smokers, not drugs.
    Titte

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have an opportunity to learn to know this very special demilitarized autonomy. If possible I will take you around the main island and show you the major sights.
    I can also teach some Swedish if wanted.

  • Help

    Help

    Cutting down plants and climbers, turning compost, some smaller stone- and gravelprojects. Rainy days you help me to organize things inside a yardbuilding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. German. All nordic languages except Islandic.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One bedroom with a double bed, one with a queensize bed.
    I provide all the meels, mostly based on local ingredients. I eat almost everything myself but cooking vegetarian is no problem.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I expect my guests to be openminded with no prejudices. This is a tolerant, bohemian home where laugh and discussions about everything is welcome.
    But your evenings can be lonely so you need to get along with that. I have some books in English.
    There is a local bus in weekdays if you want to go to town.
    If you travel from the continent the best way to get to Åland is via Stockholm where you can take a connecting bus to a ferry to Mariehamn where I meet. The ticket costs less than 20 euros.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 694777176269