Play a part in developing a sustainable eco living close to Kilkenny City, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thank you all for the interest in joining us this year. We now have no more availability for the rest of this year

    Hello Workawayers.
    2021 will be my first year as a host, and all because of the amazing experience my daughter Holly had with a Workaway family (before Covid ) in France... I would like to give others the same opportunity she received from her host family..

    **You will need a negative Covid test or be fully vaccinated with cert**

    We have a 100 year old farmhouse, a few Kilometres from Kilkenny city. Our home is surrounded by farmland, with lots of beautiful walks on our doorstep. Our village is a lovely community with lots going on. I am interested in hosting all nationalities - I love to learn of others cultures and life experiences

    Irish is a beautiful language (taithí a dheánnann máistreacht ) and our culture is one of Ceol, Teanga, agus Craic… agus Cead míle fáilte

    I currently have a major project, converting a field area into extending the lawns and fruit and vegetables area.
    We have a small woodland/copse area, that we would love to create a biodiverse area through for Irish wildlife and indigenous flowers - if you have experience or this is an area that interests you, then we would love to hear from you.... we have lots of tasks and projects to progress.

    Charlie is a miniature Schnauzer and our oldest dog at 12 years and our smallest... Cara is the black border collie and she is 10 months old and full of energy and love, we recently adopted Vicky a 9 year old border collie from ISPCA, she is a little timid but so loving.
    Rebel is our outdoor farm cat, and she does a great job at keeping the mice away, with Ella being our 2 month old kitten.
    Our hens are great characters, they are very curious and also like company - fresh eggs every day that taste amazing

    If you do smoke, I would ask that you smoke outside. If you like to cook, you would be welcome to cook anything you would like to contribute to the family. The pantry is kept well stocked.

    Before you arrive I will contact you about food you like to eat so that I can have food you like in our pantry when you arrive. Please be honest when first contacting us to come and stay about your dietary requirements, such as being vegetarian, especially if you require soya products, gluten free or vegen products (Our vegetables are not grown in the vegan style, we use animal manure in our growing beds). Telling us when you arrive is too late as we do not have soya/gluten free or vegen products in our pantry and the local town/supermarket that stocks such products is 15km's away.

    A bit about me, Susan. I have 2 grown children Holly and Harry - Holly is studying French & Spanish at DCU and is planning to be travelling all summer with Workaway.... Harry is an outdoor adventure instructor, sailing, kayaking and lots of other sports, he is away working this summer in Cornwall UK. I work for a technology company, mostly from my office at home, but do head up to Dublin a couple of times a week to go into our office there - I love connecting with people and one of the best parts of working for my company is that we have 74 nationalities working in our Dublin office.

    I am an animal lover who likes hiking and taking the dogs on long walks, you are of course welcome to join me. I love pottering around with different jobs on our property. I really enjoy tending to our vegetables and flowers that we grow. I love baking bread, cakes, scones and savoury dishes. If you would like to try some traditional Irish food I'm very happy to bake and cook those meals for you to try.
    I love meeting people from other countries and cultures and love to share our culture with people and learning new things from our Workawayers about their countries, traditions and lives.

    Hoping to hear from you

    Susan

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ireland is a country steeped in history and culture. Kilkenny is Ireland’s medieval city, music, literature and as Gaeilge (Irish Language)
    You will have an opportunity to learn about Irish country living, on our property we have our own well, and are developing a bee garden, woodland environment and our hens roam free.

    Our aim is to build a sustainable eco living and would love for you to play a part in developing this.

    In addition you will have the opportunity to speak English every day and also some Irish if you’d like, I love to cook and bake and you can join me learning to cook some traditional Irish meals - I would also love to learn some of your dishes!

    We are 15kms to Kilkenny City, 90mins by train to Dublin, 90mins to Cork

  • Help

    Help

    I want you to feel comfortable and at home with us - I will encourage you to cook with everyone as its great to experience your foods and customs as well as you experiencing ours.
    I want you to especially enjoy your experience here and improve your spoken English language as much as possible while here. The main reason helpers come to Ireland on workaway programs is to improve their English language. We will make mealtimes a key part of the day where we all come together - chat, discuss and get to know one another, which all helps develop your spoken English skills... I have basic German - mein Deutsch is nicht sehr gut, but I would love to practice and improve

    We also have tons of board games, cards and there is SKY TV and Netflix also.

    ALL races, religions, cultures, characters and orientations are welcome here. The world is a far better and more interesting place with a rich diversity and I am proud of how diverse and inclusive Ireland has become.

    We also have 3 dogs, Charlie is 12, Cara is 1yr and Vicky is 9yrs old - all are very friendly and enjoy cuddles and a farm cat who wanders around!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love the Irish language but don’t get to speak it too often… but happy to share cúpla focal with you during mealtimes and of course for those looking to improve their English, this is spoken every day

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    4 bedroom farmhouse.
    Own private room with sharing main bathroom
    3 meals a day

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to explore and do across Ireland, hiking, sports, theatre, great places to eat and soak the atmosphere
    In our village, we have a thriving Hurling club (Irelands national sport) pubs, churches, squash courts, stunning walks and a bustling community, we are only 15km from Kilkenny city and 90mins from Dublin

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 769374266795