Help out a travelling bus, surf, build, photograph in Playa Venoa, Panama

Country

Panama

new host  

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey guys! My names Nadine - a Aussie girl who started travelling South America in 2017. 3 weeks into my travels and on a whim I bought a bus and fitted it out to be my home.

    In 2017 a public school bus from Chile was was renovated and turned into a rolling community with the help of fellow travelers. Fitted out with 5 beds and kitchen it’s a revolving door for anyone willing to share the experience. My dream is to drive across 14 countries from Chile to Canada.

    I am currently in Panama, parked in a little surf town called playa venoa doing some renovations to the bus and surfing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This will give you an insight into bus life on the road and a very different travelling experience you will never forget. You will learn new things everyday, we take each day as it comes and have fun as we go. Life on the road travelling is very different to hostels and the normal travel life. It’s a home environment and the bus becomes a community and a family. It is always an adventure and unpredictable.

  • Help

    Help

    The involvement in the project is to help with the appropriate care and maintenance the bus requires after being in storage for 8 months.

    The idea is to re vamp the bus -
    - paint outside
    - outdoor shower
    - fan & solar panels
    - Fix roof
    - set up the outside projector to screen surf films or movies.

    in between renovating we can surf, explore the town and party at night if you like. It’s rainy season so depending on the weather we chill a lot.

    We have no time limits so we take it as it comes and go with the flow.

    Building or general maintenance experience is ideal but not needed - we can learn as we go.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little bit of Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a your own bed in the bus. There is a double bed, single or fold out sofa to choose to sleep in. The bus is shared living, open space with minimal privacy. You will have a place to put your belongings. We don’t have toilets or showers, however there are plenty of restaurants, hotels, nature or hostels to available to freshen up. I will provide one light meal per day and if then we can share the cost of food and groceries. We have a gas cooker on the bus.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus life is slow and we take everyday as it comes. We tend to stick to the coast and spend our days surfing and relaxing. Reading a book, cooking or doing some arts and crafts. I have no time frame to renovating the bus so it’s very chill. Id like for you to enjoy the surroundings we are in while giving the bus the TLC it requires.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 767979418711