Home, garden and eco projects in Nantiat, France

Country

France

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/02/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Marja was born in Finland, Jean-Christophe is French. We live in a small village near Limoges in France. We organise cultural events, work with puppetry, try to renovate our more 400 years old house and take care of our garden. Our two children live their lives outside of their home now. We have been touring a lot in different countries and love to meet new people. Around our home you can find a lot of old oak and chestnut trees. But also two buddhist temples and some cultural attractions. The nearest railwaystation is 5km from our home so you can reach it, if needed, by bike.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending the period, there are several cultural events near by where we can bring you like the "LEBUISBLUES" blues festival in August just 2 km from our home. The train to Limoges center takes 20 min so you can easily be in the city if being in the countryside becomes too boring. Depending your interest in puppetry we may bring you some new experiences. We also have a quite big bookcase with many artbooks in English if you are interested in that field.If you like more sports, there is an artificial lake just 10 km away with several activities. Also if you like to walk, a hiking trail goes by just 100m from our home.

  • Help

    Help

    Our house need some general maintenance. Art projects can be included during our summer festival in July. While we are occupied by our projects, the garden might need help like water it. There is a commun well in front of the house. We do hope to develop more eco-projects but at the moment it's more about and around ourcompost.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Finnish, some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The second floor has two sleeping areas. They are like two rooms but connected by the roof ( the wall between is only 2m high). The first one has a double bed and the second two single beds. We only accept one or two persons at the same time so you might have the whole floor for yourself. There is free WIFI even though the connexion specially with phones might not work very well. We share our shower and toilet with you. We usually eat once all together in the evening between 7 and 8 pm but if we work at home, also à 12 am. We prefer vegatarian food but do eat also meat and fish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a swimmingpool nearby with jacuzzi and hammam. Jean-Christophe is teaching kendo in Limoges and if it's your practice you can join him. There is a good library with exhibitions, films, CD's and books available 3km from our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 767925564725