300 year old farmhouse in the mountains where the Algarve borders the Alentejo, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 594 times
  • Last activity: 3 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description



    We live in a 300 year old farmhouse with 52 acres on the edge of the beautiful Monchique mountains where the Algarve borders the Alentejo. We have seen bonelli's eagles, herons, storks, fox cub, deer and once a family of otters. Wild boar live around here yet they are shy so you only see the footprints by the lakes.

    After spending eleven years in Cyprus we came here in 2009. We are easy going and flexible. We like to meet people from all walks of life and have also travelled internationally. Although it's peaceful and rural we love the contrast so a couple of times a week we drive to bigger towns.

    Barragem de Santa Clara is nearby. It is one of the biggest lakes in Portugal, great for hiking, swimming and water sports.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very practical people and although we hope workawayers will have some skills when they come here, we hope that we can add to them.

    We love talking and sharing experiences from around the world! It has been a joy meeting so many lovely people, some of whom we consider lifelong friends now.

  • Help


    Help taking care of our 2 gorgeous dogs: they love cuddles and walks. Please note that Nubla (Great Dane) and Hobo (Serra da Estrela mix) are both big dogs. Although incredibly friendly, some people are intimidated by Nubla's size so please only message if your comfortable being around gentle giants! We also have 3 semi wild cats called Tutti-Frutti, Oreo and Millie.

    We need help with Cleaning (the kitchen floors etc), painting, gardening (there is alot of pruning, strimming and planting), general maintenance.. There's always things to be done! We try and get jobs done in the mornings and spend the afternoons reading and relaxing in the garden.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We are fortunate to live in a beautiful area, perfect for writers, artists and nature lovers.
    Accommodation is in a comfortable double room in our farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local train station (Santa Clara - Saboia) is 10mins down the road (we're happy to give people a lift to/from there) its easy to get to lots of places in the Algarve and to Lisbon. There is also a bus from the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours a day, 5 days

Host ref number: 767564559411

Feedback (18)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)

We need help doing different tasks near Carvoeira, Portugal
Looking for help with pet & house sitting on Sao Caetano-Madalena, Portugal