Have a break in nature and work with your hand in a beautiful old farm in an alternative area in south of France

Country

France

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple from France (Marie) and Argentina (Antonio) settled in an old farm in countryside nearby Ariège (a well renowned alternative and hippy area) and the Pyrénées, in South of France. We both are freelance (Marie as webdesigner and Antonio as engineer) and work form home. We travel regularly worldwide, specially Antonio who has travel in his DNA! mostly in India, where we lived for some times few years ago, Argentina and Spain. Since we met in an Ashram in 2014, we have explored several ways of living, practicing yoga and meditation for several year intensively, trying various kind of diet, discovering the variety of points of view, beliefs and values in spiritual, ecological and alternative paths. We are progressively finding our way, in between the "fully autonomous, zero-waste, super spiritual" and the "100% normal, main-stream" way of life.

    After several years looking for a place to stay and to buy, we finally found our little paradise two years ago. But at that time it was a paradise in the making ^^ We worked hard to make it new, nice and clean and now, we still work a lot because there is always something to do, but we slow down a bit, making this work, a part of our inner work. We keep in mind to do our best while respecting our limits, desires, weaknesses, needs, rythmes and those of the others (but we are not perfect and sometimes we forget but we are on the path :). We explore step by step, consciously, with respect, love and sense of humor how to live happily in this world, with one self, the others and nature, dealing every day with what brings to us life :)

    Our project is share this place with people coming and going and, in the future, with people willing to stay for longer, when the house will be bigger to host permanently other people. We have already started a little vegetable garden inspired by permaculture (we are not specialist but we are willing to explore more without getting too reigourous) and would like to plant soon more fruit trees, having sheeps and a bigger vegetable and plant garden.

    Everything we experiment, live and face here, is for us an opportunity to learn about ourself, about human nature and behaviors, about matters, about nature. We see this place as a "sand box" as much as our teacher and shelter. If you want to join us in this internal and external adventure, you are most welcome !!

    We arrived in this place with almost zero knowledge neither experience in renovating an house and we have done so much in this short period of time! We have gain some knowledge specially in insolation with eco-materials and soil or lime plaster that we would be happy to share with you. We also have a big workshop and many tools and materials, a big covered place to practice yoga or other activities.

    We don't have children but we have a cat.

    We don't drink alcool and are non smokers and we expect our guest to respect our wish to keep that place conscious and safe :) From our side, we respect and tolerate a moderate consumption of all these.

    After reading that, if you feel that you want to come and join us for a while, please, contact us, you are most welcome :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During your stay, you could practice french, english or spanish. We would be happy to share with you our experience in renovating an old house. You could also take benefit of this stay to have a break from your daily life, explore another life experience, mind your habits, connect with nature and try differents way of living and interacting.
    We would be happy to share with you our experience and joy in baking delicious home made pizza, making awesome soap, shampoo or toothpaste, making jam with the fruits in the garden... if you are interested in :)
    We could bring you to the places we know where you could meet other very interesting and "alternative" people, practice what they have to offer in the fields of ecology, permaculture, organic agriculture, eco-building, spirituality, arts...

  • Help

    Help

    The house is big and so the land (1,5 hectare). There is a lot to do in this two main areas:
    - Gardening and outdoor "building": maintaining and creating new things (mowing the lawn, building shelter for the caravan and dry toilet, planting trees, preparing the soil for the big vegetable garden...)
    - Indoor building: helping us with the ongoing works on the house

    You could also participate with the meals cooking.

    We would love you to join us with your skills, talents, enthusiasm, to participate to this project, according to what appeals you or where you want to learn the most or have skills.

    We ask you 4h/day of working, 5 days a week. We generally work during weekdays, specially on the morning, sometimes afternoon too. We couldn't be available all the time so, someone autonomous, with previous experience in gardening, carpentry for exemple and able to manage him/herself would be good :)

    We can host a single person or a couple.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We both speak english, french and spannish. Antonio is a native spannish speaker (from argentina) and Marie a native french speaker. We both have a good level of english, but I would say, a "traveler english" =D Antonio is always super happy to speak his language with another spannish speaker and Marie is happy to practice english and spannish. Marie could help you improving your french if you want to, as she is perfectionist (sorry sometimes it is annoying ^^) and more keen toward grammatical rules. Antonio is the one who make people understand each other even with little vocabulary as he has an intuitive way of speaking languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay either in a confortable caravan or tent (during summer) with good mattress, that are located in a lovely space with a super view in the land at 60 meters from the house. You will have your own bathroom in the house.
    We would provide food (vegetarian) and we would happy to share the meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    THE AREA AND ACTIVITIES NEARBY
    We are living in Haute-Garonne, one hour from Toulouse and 20 minutes from Ariège, in the middle of countryside, surrounded by meadow. You may enjoy during your free time to go to the Montbrun-Bocage market, a locally famous "hippy" market were everybody here gather on sunday morning. You may also enjoy walking nearby our place (it is very quiet), going to hike in the Pyrénées (1h from our place), having a cold bath in the river or kayaking (1h15 from our place). There are also many activities such as yoga, qigong, dance (tango, folk, ecstatic...), small concerts, mantra singing... that occurs regularly. There are good opportunities to meet very beautiful people experiencing different kind of living.

    TRANSPORTS
    Our place can be reached by plane (till Toulouse Airport) and then by train till Cazères, 15min from our place. We can pick you up at the Cazères Railway Station. There is no transport directly coming and going from our house, as it is in the middle of countryside. If you have a driving licence, we could lend you our car if you need to go somewhere or want to explore the places around.
    We also have two bikes you could use when available.
    The nearest town (with services) is 10min from our house.

    TIME OFF
    We suggest you to work from tuesday to saturday, and take a break on sunday and monday, as we are more likely to work on the house during week-end than week days. This can be adjusted once you are here and stay flexible :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital nomad with half of their days free are most welcome. You can have a place in the house to work with your laptop if you need to. We have a good internet connexion (fiber) and 4G is working too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a place you can put your campervan if you have one but it is only accessible to light one or when the wether is dry, as the path is a mud and grass path.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 763812211264