Come and help on our small horse farm in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    335

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Names: Jeff and Crystal

    *We are currently in need of a head trail guide to start in early July and stay until mid/end of September. Head trail guides must be at least 21 years of age, have a working visa, excellent customer service skills and significant experience with horses.

    * We are always in need of men willing to help with general construction and labour projects

    We have been participating in workaway for almost 2 years and have been so thrilled to meet people from all over the world! We love learning about new cultures and sharing ours in return. We view ourselves as typically 'Canadians' and when you hear Jeff say 'eh', you'll definitely know you are in Canada!

    Horses are a universal language, and so we are so fortunate to share our horsey lifestyle with other horse lovers from other countries.

    Jeff is a retired police officer and Crystal works as a teacher from Sept- June. We have five children, but only two live at home. From April-October we are very busy and our days are filled with grooming and saddling horses, riding and property maintenance. We have 18 horses, 3 pet pigs, 2 goats, 1 dog, 4 cats and 2 rabbits.

    We meet people from all over the world who enjoy stunning views of the Okanagan, West Kelowna, Canada. We live in a very warm region of Canada, so during the summer months are very warm. From November-March we have cooler temperatures and snow.

    Of the 18 horses we have five under vigorous training and the remaining 13 always need exercise and regular training every day. Having knowledge of horse training and riding is required. From June-September, we are only able to host workaways who are at least 21 years of age, have significant riding experience and who are able to stay at least 2 months with us. Having a desire to work hard and being self motivated is needed, as well. We also need people who have knowledge of building, property maintenance, general labour jobs and electrical wiring in building from time to time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Kelowna, BC has four distinct seasons and the summer is known for warm temperatures. The region features multiple vineyards/wineries, a gorgeous lake setting, and is tourism focused. You will meet people from all over the world at our ranch and will have the privilege of interacting with horses each and every day. In the heat of the day, cool off in our pool, and at the end of the day soak in our hot tub to sore any aching muscles.

  • Help

    Help

    We operate a small horse farm in one of the most beautiful areas of Canada - Kelowna, British Columbia. We would love to have you join us and experience Canadian culture, and improve your language skills. From June-September, our focus is primarily preparing horses for trail rides and riding. From October-May you will be asked to help with general property maintenance, and feeding and grooming horses. You must have experience with horses for this cultural exchange, unless you are willing to do general labour work instead of working directly with the horses.

    You must be physically fit and active as most work will be outdoors and involve some labour work. Some duties might include: shoveling manure, cleaning tack, picking rocks, fixing fences, and brushing and saddling horses. There will be many opportunities to ride our horses, as well. We welcome anyone with basic carpentry, electrical or painting skills as we have some trim that needs to be painted and other ongoing projects. . Being a self motivated person who is capable of working in a group or alone is a must.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 bedrooms available in our family home. You may need to share a bedroom with one other workawayers. You will share a bathroom (shower, no bathtub) with another workawayer. There is a living room with a TV that would be used primarily by you. Food will be included, but you will be responsible for preparing most of your meals as we don't always have sit-down meals. We are not on a bus route, but we would be happy to organize some rides to the bus stop for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask that workawayers stay for a min. of month and longer stays are needed from June-September. If you enjoy the outdoors then you will love the many beaches, hiking/biking trails, wineries, and a variety of water-sports. Kelowna has vibrant downtown and during the summer there is often free live music and various events. In the winter, go for a snowshoe, ski on one of our world-renowed mountains, or enjoy skating on our free outdoor arena.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 758554668468