Visit me and speak Spanish in beautiful Grand Forks, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 14 Mar 2023




  • Description


    Visit me in Grand Forks, BC, and help me practice my Spanish. I live in a charming house beside the river, a short walk from downtown. Grand Forks is a beautiful, small city with a lot to offer - heritage buildings and homes, art gallery, rivers, beaches, trails for walking and cycling. I don't have many projects for Workawayers, but if you are a native Spanish-speaker, and would like to have a relaxing stay in a beautiful place, please come and speak Spanish with me! We can also work together in my garden, where I grow vegetables, fruit, and flowers.

    I am 46 years old. My two children have grown up and left home, so I live here with my cat, and on weekends my boyfriend lives here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will experience life in a small Canadian city. I live a peaceful, simple life, treating the earth, people, and other creatures with respect and love. Most of my yard is a garden, where I enjoy growing vegetables and fruit. I would be happy to share my knowledge of gardening.

  • Help


    Native Spanish-speakers only please. My Spanish is pretty good, but I don't have anyone here to practice with. I'm afraid if I don't speak it more often, I'm going to forget how. In addition to language practice, there may be some house and garden projects to be done (no skills needed).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom, with a queen-sized bed, in my small house. We'll share the bathroom, kitchen, and living areas. I will provide some meals (vegetarian), but you will need to provide some of your own food as well. I work at a bakery, so you will get some nice bread to eat!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I always enjoy connecting with people from other places, hearing their life stories, and sharing mine. I'm a calm, peaceful person who practices Buddhism. My home is clean and tranquil.

    My house is within walking distance of downtown, shopping, beaches, swimming holes, restaurants, movie theatre, gym, trails, including the Trans-Canada Trail.

    There are two buses that can bring you to Grand Forks: Mountain Man Mike's and Silver City Stagelines. The buses will drop you off a few blocks from my house. I don't normally drive a car, so I won't be able to pick you up from out of town.

    Non-smokers only please, as I am sensitive to the smell of cigarettes and marijuana. I don't use marijuana or any other drugs and ask that you do not use them while you are a guest in my home. A little bit of alcohol is fine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have unlimited high-speed internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    One parking space available in my driveway.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 755456176638


Join our family, help us around the garden and receive the gems that our family and Nelson has to offer, Canada
Come discover wheelchair sports in Montréal, Canada