Eco- and Art-Project in the Caribbean - Taganga, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jimmy, I am a 59 year old Colombian and I started an Eco-Project in Taganga close to Santa Marta with two Kogui Indios, who are helping me with permaculture and bio construction to give them a possibility to go to school. My aim is to build out of natural and recycable materials a traditional clay house to create a place for an intercultural exchange, as well as a place for visitors/volunteers and my house "Tierrita Colorá"...A place to create art!
    For now I just speak spanish, so please try to write any request in spanish!

    I have to ask every voluntario for 15.000 pesos ($4,81 USD) /day por person contribution to cover electricity, water and materials for the construction. My income is extremely limited and sporatic so sorry I have to ask for this. In exchange I can share my knowledge of natural building and technics from the indigen culture. There is a lot to do and learn here, your contribution will help to keep this new project alive.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a lot of natural knowledge to give wich I espacially learned from the "Kogui's", a indegenous tribe of the "Sierra Nevada" and from lifetime traveling. I expierenced theater and puppet mastering many years in different countrys.
    I just speak spanish, so it would be also a great possibility for you to learn and practice your spanish. You can learn a lot about the cultur and the lifestyle of the "Kogui's".

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for general help, like wall construction, roof construction, greenhouse construction, ecological sanitory construction, gardening and cooking healthy,local and seasonal food...As well as help in language practice and every kind of intercultural exchange.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer the second flor of my tower with a hammock and a mattress and a house for volunteers with mattress and mosquito net, which you will finish as a part of this project. Feel free to find your own place for your hammock or tent in my property. For now I can't offer food, but we always cook together and always share the costs if you wish to

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My house is at the mountain slope with a beautiful view to the sea and a 5 minute walk to the beach. You can start hiking in to the "Sierra Nevada" directly from the backyard. A bus can take you in 10 minutes to "Santa Marta", a city full of night life and activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week- no food




Host ref number: 746793766917