Join a family of six in an old traditional farmhouse in the beautiful small village, Otersen, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey you all,

    we are a big family consisting of 6 kids in the age between 9 and 20 and two parents.
    Our eldest moved out for her studies and the others are still in school.

    We live in a beautiful small village called Otersen close to Verden (Aller) in an old, traditional farming house (size of 1h).
    The village is located 15km far from the city and surrounded by forests and fields with horses and cows. We do have a small shop here and many lovely inhabitants. It is the ideal area for cycling and hiking but also to go swimming in our 7 small lakes. Our place has also access to one of these ponds.
    While we are not doing farming anymore, we are passionate about keeping the old buildings (from 1872 and 1725) in proper condition. That is why we currently renovating the main house. We are not in a hurry because we have another house where we live, eat, play and enjoy the community:)

    We are an openminded family that loves to meet new people. Be prepared: there is always something going on and it might be a bit noisy sometimes;).
    My mom loves to work in our garden and create some small projects on our ground such as building a greenhouse or planting new flowers. My dad works during the week and enjoys after work is hobby beekeeping. Next to the bees we also keep rabbits and two cats.

    We are looking forward to meeting you.
    Feel free to contact with any questions,

    your Hasenhof-family:)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will benefit from our unique family community since they experience being part of a big family and living together with lots of people under one roof. Furthermore, they practice their gardening skills and benefit from my moms knowledge about plants and vegetables. Thus, you can experience yourself in the renovation work of the old farmhouse. More particularly, painting and working with natural material (e.g. clay).
    For sure you can improve your german skills with our help!:)

  • Help

    Help

    * painting walls inside the new building
    * working with clay (reconstructing the old walls)
    *planting flowers and building a small greenhouse from wood
    *cutting the grass around the pond
    *taking care of the smaller kids (e.g. playing some games with them)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own very private bright bedroom (16m2 ) and are welcome to share the bathroom and kitchen with the family. There are a washing machine and dryer available.

    free food will be provided and jointly cooked:)
    We can pick you up from the train station.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    you can enjoy the silence in nature and discover the environment via bicycle. In case you want to go for a coffee in the city, my mom could take you there or you could take the bus. During warm and sunny days it is nice to swim in the ponds or go to the river and enjoy the sunset.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Although ít is a remote place, high-speed internet is available. Moreover, in your spare time, you can use the garden to work online or the living and dining room despite your own room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The size of our ground allows workawayers to stay with their own van/vehicle on our ground.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A little part of our garden and the bee house
Our living room
The kitchen with all our family photos on the wall
The front of our house.
One of the pond in the garden.
An other photo of the garden ( on the swing you can see Eva, one of our first Workaway traveler )
The terrace, a place where we use to eat during the summer.
The all Family !!! From left to right: Jörg, Helena, Theresa, Jonathan, Rebecca, Julius, Bettina, Johannes.
Old but gold picture of children playing in the pound.

Host ref number: 744996489919