Learn Thai culture, help us with our son and enjoy a mini organic farm in Bangkok, Thailand

  • Favourited 236 times
  • Last activity: 23 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are doing homeschool for our 12 years old son and looking for someone who can develop academic reading and essay writing skills (persuasive and argumentative styles). He has the admission test for Grade 7 on December 2024 in English, so we are looking for volunteers from 18 July - 15 December.

    During your stay, you will learn basic Thai cooking from us and learn Thai boxing from a professional gym once a week. Our home is a container, tiny home style in a big green space. We have ground and raised base plants, fish pond, and chicken coop for eggs. There are 2 lovely mini cochin chicken that we treat them as our pet and let them walk around the house.

    For volunteer who love active life style, we have a small basketball court in the house, and 3 bicycles that you can ride around the village. There is also a badminton court in the village which is only 7 minutes by walk.

    My wife, Aim, has a tools room and she love DIY stuff. I am interested in the blockchain technology and spiritual practice like meditation. My son enjoys cooking, eating, playing chess, basketball, pickleball, Thai boxing and badminton.

    Our guests will have 3 days off from every Sunday to Tuesday to visit the nearby cities and stay overnight to experience different parts of Thailand. The old-town tourist spots are only around 20 minutes from our location by taxi. Moreover, we will take you to a street food and floating market in the area and also help with your travel plans.

    Our family is looking forward to welcome you to our family, share the culture, enjoy Thai food and plan your amazing trip.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    1. Learn Thai cooking and boxing with us (Once a week each)
    2. Experience life in a mini organic farm
    3. Live with local Thai family
    4. Have free time to travel
    5. We take you to a street food and floating market by ourselves every Saturday

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Provide your expertise to teach our 12- yrs homeschool son. He is fluent in English. He likes cooking, online games, board games, eating, playing basketball and chess.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide an air-conditioner room with a single bed, sofa, and TV. You will have a private bathroom next to your room. We have a big garden and small basketball court in the area. You can connected to the home wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to the Southern Bus Terminal Bangkok (Sai Tai Mai), around 7 minutes by taxi.
    If you come from the BKK Airport or Don Mueang Airport around 1 hr by taxi.
    If you come from the local train to Hua lum phong station or Bang Sue Grand station, It is about 35 mins by taxi.
    For Taxi, (either from the airport or the train station) please tell them to use the Meter for you. If they say no meter, don't worry, you can ask a new taxi.

    The price from the Airport is around 400 baht from the airport to here including the toll-road/high way.
    The price from the local train station is around 200 baht.


    Our home is in a good location which is around 20-30 minutes to the most popular tourist spots of old town area such as the golden palace, Wat Arun, China town and etc.
    If you enjoy shopping, there are 4-5 department stores within the 10-20 drive, or it takes 30 minutes to the city center by taxi.

    If you read everything from above and still interested in helping us, write to us with a subject : "I love chicken", otherwise we won't reply to you.

    **We can't host any type of vegan as we prepare cooking lessons that mostly cook meat. Sorry about this. It’s a lot of restrictions and hard for us, hope you understand**

    *** If you are very strict with your diet, please bring your own supply just in case and normally Thai street food use soup made from animal bones unless it’s vegan shop so it’ll be very hard for you to eat out***

    *** We are not smokers and have zero-tolerance for smoking in any area of the land.***

    *** Our home is a tiny home, container style, so the room is minimal style and not much indoor space. Make sure that you are ok with living in a tiny-home room. The size of your room will be the 20 feet container ***

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 742842156783

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Share your skills and welcome to help emerging artists in Bang Yai, Thailand
Share your travels with local kids through education in Phayao, Thailand