Moms looking for help in Washington, DC. Cleaning, Carpentry, Landscaping, Chinese, Violin, Piano!

Country

United States

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking to host someone who is willing to help our girls with violin, piano, or Chinese language (We'll help with your American English) and occasionally assist with landscaping or clean up around the house. No childcare is involved.
    We are a Black, lesbian couple with two small girls. We are looking for help in our home. We can host in one of two locations. One is a laid back country setting on 5 acres. There is a pool, small ponds in need of repair, and lots of grass, plants, and WEEDS! Learn to operate a riding mower, help refurbish the pool, help pull weeds, etc. We also would like some help refinishing the decks. We also have two little girls, 7 and 8 years old who are learning to speak Mandarin and need conversation buddies. They are also beginning violin and viola players. So, if you play strings, this is an excellent opportunity to share your talents with the next generation. We bought a baby grand piano, but the girls haven't had lessons yet. If you'd like to show them the ends and outs on the piano, that would make for an excellent exchange as well. I also have health problems, so any assistance with the cooking or cleaning would be great as well.
    Our other house is in the city and time can be spent there as well. It's really the choice of the worker.
    We are super flexible. We are just looking for honest and enthusiastic travelers looking to visit and share a little part of themselves with us. We don't care if you're a chef, a master carpenter, a musician, or a teacher. Just come visit us and we'll provide a warm bed and friendship in exchange for four hours per day of "sharing".
    *️️️️Hi, we've welcomed three volunteers during our short time on Workaway. Based on these experiences, I'd like to add a few requirements for anyone thinking about joining us in our home. Please remember that this is an exchange. Be prepared to make a commitment to four volunteer hours per day M-F. Also remember we are opening our guests to strangers in order to enrich the lives of our children. You should be prepared to honor your commitment unless we've breached our agreement in some way. Our children are sensitive and tend to bond right away. Do not treat our home like a hotel or hostel. You should attempt to get to know us. I haven't been asked one question regarding us or our lives. It's odd to have people in your home who have no interest in you as a person. If you are racist, homophobic, transphobic, etc., this is not the listing for you. We live in the country. There is no public transportation. We can't pay for your transportation or pick you up from the airport or train station. You can use Uber to get from the house to the metro or bus. DC is an expensive place to visit/live. We can't buy your food/groceries or toiletries while you visit. If we make family meals, you are welcome to eat with us. However, you will be expected to buy and prepare your food independently. What do you get? A free place to live during your time in one of the most expensive cities in the United States.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our home, travelers will learn about Black culture and foods and practice their American English. Travelers would be able to visit all of the important historical locations and museums in Washington, DC.

  • Help

    Help

    Our girls are beginning violin, viola, and piano players. They are also learning Mandarin. We'd welcome someone in our home who could assist with practices.
    We also occasionally need help with small construction and landscaping projects around the house. So, if you've got skills and willing to teach us, we'd love to host you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our home, the traveler will have a private bedroom with queen bed. You'd share a bathroom with the girls. The traveler would largely be responsible for preparing his/her meals. However, we'd treat the visitor to a dinner out on occasion.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are liberal politically and would like someone who is open and believes in equality and social justice.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours/day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 741995495378