Stay and explore Algarve, Portugal with travel-loving family!

Country

Portugal

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, our names are Holly and David and our daughter is Anissa. We arrived in Portugal just over 3 years ago with backpacks and the idea to stay in the area for 6 months or so! We have since started a Stand Up Paddle Boarding school and settled nicely into the way of life here.

    We are passionate travellers and love exploring and adventuring!

    Our day to day lifestyle is quite relaxed and with the exception of our SUP tours and bookings, we tend to take the days as they come, spending time in the garden, at the beach, with friends and there are also a few toddler clubs that Holly and Anissa go to in the mornings.

    Our first SUP tour of the day is at Sunrise, if there is room in the vehicle, you will be more than welcome to join us at the beach if you wish!

    Anissa is 22 months old, she is fun, active and very curious! We try to include her in everything we do, as she is not in nursery. So anything interesting that you can teach her, would be wonderful!

    We are an active, outdoors family, we like healthy-living and interested in sustainability.

    Our home is in a lovely rural area, 10 minutes drive from Lagos and Luz. It's very relaxing here, with beautiful views across to Monchique too. When we moved to the house 18 months ago, the gardens were completely overgrown and the house had not been lived in for a few years, so there has been lots of clearing and tidying up to do and we are just wanting help to continue with this project!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been hosted by amazing locals around the world during previous travels and we gained so much from these experiences, that we want to try and both reciprocate the hospitality and also continue to learn things from people that stay with our family. We hope to spend plenty of time getting to know our guests, sharing stories, experiences and ideas.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mostly looking for hands-on help in the garden, but help elsewhere would always be hugely appreciated! There is a lot of weeding and clearing, and we are also trying to start a vegetable garden. If you have knowledge with growing, that's a huge bonus, but equally, as long as you are happy to read up and learn as you go, we don't mind experimenting! If you have knowledge of permaculture, we would love your input and ideas on this.

    Other things that would be amazingly useful, but not mandatory, may include;

    *️ Building an outdoor play area; you will have the chance to get creative! Think mud kitchen, climbing frame or obstacle course, some kind of water course or sand pit.. could be anything!

    *️️️️️️️️Shopping and cooking (not as a main job, but would be great if you could help out!)

    *️️️️️️️️Editing video footage (I thought I would throw this in, you never know!); we have hours and hours of video footage from our bike ride across the world a few years ago, however, we have not had the chance to edit the footage. If there 'happens' to be someone who would love to do this and is experienced in doing so, here is your opportunity!

    *️️️️️️️️If you are musical, David has a beautiful classical guitar, but desperately needs some lessons!!!

    *️️️️️️️️Anything interesting that you can bring to the table!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a typical Portuguese 3 bedroom villa, with large gardens and an orchard. Inside, we would like to offer a bedroom with double bed and a shared bathroom to our guest/s. We also have a large kitchen and open living room, which you are very welcome to use throughout your stay with our family.

    Located between 2 lovely Portuguese villages and just 10 minutes drive from the bustling coastal town of Lagos and 25 minutes drive to the western Atlantic coast, we are in a great location for experiencing all sides of the Algarvian culture and landscape!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Between the two of us (Holly and David) we are always coming and going to different places (beach, town, kids clubs) and will always be happy for you to either join us, or get dropped off to where you would like to go, if it is on our route. Alternatively, there is also a bus service within 100m of our driveway that will take you to the main bus station of Lagos. There is also a train station in Lagos.

    If you love the outdoors, then the Algarve is your paradise! The area is extremely popular for water sports (surfing, SUP, kite surfing, windsurfing, sailing), hiking (incredible coastal walks and our house is also located just next to the GR13 Via Algarvia walking route that goes from the Spanish border, to Sagres, the most south westerly point of Europe), also mountain biking and road biking is fantastic here, there are horse riding schools and one of the worlds best drop zones for skydiving too!

    You will have the chance to learn to SUP with David and I!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 738244541678