Help us convert a barn and prepare the garden in the beautiful Poitou- Charentes region, France

  • France
  • Favourited 85 times
  • Last activity: 29 Mar 2023




  • Description


    We are a Franco-German family and we have 3 children aged 14, 12 and 9 . We enjoy having people at home, and love to cook for them and with them ! We also love music a LOT, and try to keep fit (we just installed a room for yoga/fitness/meditation). We have hosted helpers via this site and also another site for over 6 years now.

    Nous sommes une famille franco-allemande et nous avons 3 enfants âgés de 14, 12 et 9 ans. Nous apprécions avoir du monde à la maison, et adorons faire la cuisine, pour eux et avec eux! Nous aimons BEAUCOUP la musique. Nous sommes très partisans d'un mode de vie sain, et avons installé une salle de yoga/méditation dans la maison. Nous avons accueilli des personnes via ce site et aussi un autre, depuis maintenant plus de 6 ans. Le bouche-à-oreille marche aussi très bien, et d'anciens volontaires nous envoient leurs amis, ou ils reviennent pour un deuxième/troisième tour!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have knowledge in alternative forms of construction and regularly go to stay in our self-built straw bale house. We are both language teachers (YOhann used to teach French, I teach Spanish). Our mother tongues are French and German, so we have had many opportunities to help our workers improve their written and spoken levels of French, German or Spanish.
    Yohann is a university professor in political sciences and sociology. He specialises in Scandinavia and recently made a documentary on Iceland. I (Vera) teach latin american literature. We are interested in a wealth of things. MUSIC is very important to us and there are musical instruments at home.
    We pay special attention to the cultural aspect of our workers' stay: showing them the surroundings, preparing them great food, etc.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Hello , we need help to restore the dependencies on our great land , as well as the garden. We have a cultural project home and need for it to make a website . We also appreciate our helpers spending a little time with our children.

    Bonjour, nous avons besoin d'aide pour la restauration de dépendances sur notre grand terrain, ainsi qu'avec le jardin. Nous avons un projet d'accueil culturel et devons pour cela faire un site web. Nos enfants aiment passer du temps avec nos helpers également!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We like to help ur volunteers along with their French being native French speakers. Our children are very good teachers also ;-) In exchange, we are looking for German speakers to spend some time teaching our children that language. They are almost fluent, but need practice! NB: I am a certified English and Spanish teacher also, so I can help with that.

  • Accommodation


    Room with private bathroom in the main house .

    Chambre avec salle de bain privative dans la maison principale.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the beautiful Poitou- Charentes region , an hour and a half from La Rochelle and the sea. Poitiers is 30 minutes and the city of Vivonne 10 minutes . There are many beautiful things to do and see .

    Nous sommes dans la belle région du Poitou-Charentes, à une heure et demie de la Rochelle et de la mer. Poitiers est à 30 minutes et la ville de Vivonne à 10 minutes. Il y a beaucoup de belles choses à faire et à voir.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a lovely dog, a little male, non-dominant whippet. He gets on with most other dogs. We are more careful with cats, that should work also, but needs to be organised space-wise.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours a day, 5 days a week - 4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 237275847322

Feedback (16)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)